Indian Turkey Burgers With Lime, Cucumbers, and Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
EXCELLENT! This was a HUGE hit -- there were zero leftovers. I made the turkey exactly as stated, except I made them into smaller "patties" rather than "burgers." They were incredibly tasty and added lots of zing to a boring old turkey burger. I made the cucumber/lime/cumin salad and served it on the side. Instead of pitas, I used Indian "chipatis" (or parathas), which is a yummy, flat Indian bread -- sort of like a tortilla but softer, fluffier and more tasty in my opinion -- got them frozen from the Indian grocery store and heated them up on a skillet. Everyone was cleaning their plates and complimenting the dish. The biggest compliment came from my brother in law, who grew up in Kenya around lots of real Indians who make real Indian food. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
As the recipe is written, it's delicious. It's very forgiving if you add a little more of this or less of that. The most recent time I made it, I used half a bag of fresh spinach chopped up, diced two cloves of garlic (didn't cook them first), and formed the meat into small meatballs. I served it over cous cous with sumac sprinkled on top and cucumber yougurt sauce on the side. It's my favorite meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
What a funky burger - healthy too. Even my picky kids liked this. I didn't have chutney so I smeared the pita with hummus. We also tossed in a few pickles with the cucumbers. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was really good! I am Indian so I doubled the spices and added a ton of jalapeño and this tasted just great. We didn't eat it with chutney and pita bread, but just regular buns and it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I used pita pocket bread and hunted down the chutney, which is hard to find in my town. The cumin/cucumber/chutney flavors are awesome together! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Kellebrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was very good. The spice mix was extremely subtle and blends very well with spinach, and it was no exception in this dish. And the spinach kept the turkey very moist. I didn't spoon the turkey mixture between two pita halves... I just put it in the pita pocket. After tasting, I decided to add a dollop of fat free yogurt with mint leaves. This heightened this dish to Low-Cal-Indian-Extraordinaire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
we did not even use all of the ingredients and this recipe was amazing-we did not do the lime chutney cucumber, cloves or jalapeno and i am sure it is even better with all of those added in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These were entirely too tasty; I'm at risk of making a habit out of them. Hubby and I enjoyed these burgers thoroughly. I will try to make this recipe true to the letter next time, just for kicks. Had to make a couple of modifications due to lack of ingredients: subbed 2 Thai chilis for the jalapeno and subbed homemade habanero jelly for the chutney, adding mint and cilantro to it to approximate the flavor of mint chutney. Oh, and I had a brain toot, thinking the recipe called for a couple of tsp plain yogurt -- must have confused it with another. Therefore, the mixture couldn't support the entire 10 oz of spinach; it was just too wet. Know what, though? I think the addition of yogurt and the reduced amount of spinach worked out really well... a fortuitous mistake. LOL Thank you sooooooo much for sharing this recipe! It has earned a place in my KEEPERS folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Mmmm! Every bite has massive flavor! If you don't like spicy, don't make this... but my boyfriend and I LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkoltov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
These were amazing. I used ground chicken instead, and a little more spinach than called for. Instead of the spices that it called for, I used some Garam Masala instead. I didn't have chutney, but thought that the cucumber topping with a little mayo added was perfect. My hubby was super skeptical when he put these on the grill, but ended up loving them too. (Oh, and we just used hamburger buns since I didn't have any pitas)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States