Indian Turkey Burgers With Lime, Cucumbers, and Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Whenever I make these, I always get raves and requests for the recipe. I use those thin style buns instead of pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These were entirely too tasty; I'm at risk of making a habit out of them. Hubby and I enjoyed these burgers thoroughly. I will try to make this recipe true to the letter next time, just for kicks. Had to make a couple of modifications due to lack of ingredients: subbed 2 Thai chilis for the jalapeno and subbed homemade habanero jelly for the chutney, adding mint and cilantro to it to approximate the flavor of mint chutney. Oh, and I had a brain toot, thinking the recipe called for a couple of tsp plain yogurt -- must have confused it with another. Therefore, the mixture couldn't support the entire 10 oz of spinach; it was just too wet. Know what, though? I think the addition of yogurt and the reduced amount of spinach worked out really well... a fortuitous mistake. LOL Thank you sooooooo much for sharing this recipe! It has earned a place in my KEEPERS folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Great flavour! Make sure to slice your cucumbers really thin and the more time they sit in the fridge, the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
These were amazing. I used ground chicken instead, and a little more spinach than called for. Instead of the spices that it called for, I used some Garam Masala instead. I didn't have chutney, but thought that the cucumber topping with a little mayo added was perfect. My hubby was super skeptical when he put these on the grill, but ended up loving them too. (Oh, and we just used hamburger buns since I didn't have any pitas)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was amazing! I did change a couple things out of necessity but I think it would have been brilliant the right way too. I didn't have jalapeno or coriander. I added extra cumin instead. I also didn't have the chutney. I made a mango salsa with cucumbers, onions, cilantro, and lime juice. I stuffed the burgers with the salsa rather than just topping it. So delicious! I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
the turkey burgers were awesome! The cucumbers and chutney were the perfect finish. We were disappointed in the pitas, ended up like a crisp cracker. Will try using tortillas and rolling them next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Mmmm! Every bite has massive flavor! If you don't like spicy, don't make this... but my boyfriend and I LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkoltov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
These tasted great. But, as with my turkey meatloaf, they fell apart. I just grilled them in a pan on the stove. The blend of spices smelled and tasted wonderful. We at the cucumber stuff on the side (w/o lime). I had never used coriander - due to it being related to cilantro (which I HATE!). But decided to try it in this dish - I will be using it again, nothing at all like cilantro. For those who aren't sure about mincing the ginger - use a garlic press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Brewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I was so excited to try these after trying the Thai Shrimp Burgers and LOVING them but these were pretty disappointing. The concept is good but the flavors didn't meld enough for me. I just wasn't crazy about it. I can't figure out why they were rated so high. I can see where they would be delicious made with lamb but the turkey was just not right for them. I think even ground chicken would have been better. I think I'll stick with the Thai Shrimp Burger and if you haven't tried those, you definitely should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I loved, my husband said it was okay. If I do these again, I would halve the amount of spinach. The cucumbers on top make the burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States