Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
It's incredible how a recipe so easy to make ends in a rich and complex flavor, I recommended it for a family dinner o even if you have guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Very good (and simple) tomato-type curry recipe. My husband, who normally doesn't like dishes this spicy, loved it. I will definitely make it again. Changes I made: I used thinly sliced onions, minced garlic, and finely grated ginger instead of pulverizing them all together. I fried the onions (along with 4 WHOLE cardamom pods, 4 WHOLE cloves, the cinnamon stick and the bay leaves) until deep golden brown, and then added the garlic and the ginger. Note: In my opinion, the success of recipes like this depends on the quality of the chicken. If the chicken is old and tough, your dining pleasure will be diminished :) I've noticed that these packages of boneless, skinless thighs are often seem to contain chicken of inferior quality. This recipe would be just as good in my opinion if a good, whole, fresh chicken were cut up into pieces...with the bone left in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
Excellent recipe. Everybody I served it to asked for the recipe. My Kids find it a bit spicy but will have some. Takes a while to make but it's worth it. One of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
I have eaten a lot of pakistani and indian chicken dishes. I am from the US, so the dishes always seemed so exotic and too difficult to do myself. This recipe is easy! And still tastes really good without the cardamom(I didn't have any)! My family kept asking for more! Even my husband is not so stuck to fried chicken (and that is a BIG change).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
I finally made this recipe after looking at it for months and it was a huge hit. Rich complex flavors and a true Indian taste. My five year old didn't like the flavor but the rest of us really enjoyed every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Prepared this for dinner last night. The effort in the beginning of the recipe was well worth the complex layering of flavors. I used a larger size of tomatoes and had a bit more sauce, which was promptly gobbled up. I was amazed that I had all the spices needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This is quite possibly THE best thing I have ever eaten in my life. The depth of flavor is incredible. I used boneless skinless thighs and served this with jasmine rice and a baby carrot/baby pea medley. None of us could stop saying mm, mm, mm -- we were all reduced to babbling babies, mm, mm, mm, mm, mm. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This tasted great. My husband and I both loved it! Instead of all the spices, I just added premixed curry spice - I couldn't find my turmeric :-) also I added extra tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Yum-yum-yum!!! This is very good! I tripled the sauce, and double-and-a-half-ed the chicken by using a "club pack" of chicken thighs so that we would have lots of leftovers. Next time I would reduce the cardamom a bit... I found it was quite a prominent taste. Also, I may try adding a bit of coconut milk to it, just to see how it tastes. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This was so delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used 2 tsp cinnamon instead of the cinnamon stick because I did not have the stick. Wow! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States