Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I used chicken breast instead of chicken thighs. I also used fresh tomatoes from the garden. Other than that I followed the recipe perfectly. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I didn't even have all of the spices necessary, I had to substitute chicken breast for legs, and diced tomatoes for crushed, and it still turned out great! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Doubled sauce and spices. Sub'd powdered mustard for tumeric and garam marsala for coriander. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I did modify it a bit as some recommended but was no less pleased with the result. For starters, I did not use bay leaf or nutmeg in mine. I did add chopped green/red bell pepper, twice the tomatoes, and 3-4 dried chilis for heat, and adjusted the spices to taste. I cooked 45 covered, 45 uncovered and had a lovely thick sauce to go with. I served mine with a simple saffron rice with peas and carrots mixed in along with naan. I think the only thing I will try different next time is to use lamb as the meat. Otherwise, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Lick-the-plate good. I lived around someone from Pakistan for a few years who always made this type of chicken from memory (just threw stuff in) and this tastes closer to it than any restaurant I've ever been to. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I followed it quite closely, with only a few modifications. Like others, I did not process the onion, garlic and ginger, and instead just diced them very finely. I also used powdered cinnamon instead of a stick. Instead of whole canned tomatoes I used freshly diced tomatoes and added some (maybe 1/2 cup) plain tomato sauce. Lastly, I added about 1/2 cup of very finely chopped cashews to thicken the sauce and give it a bit more texture. SO GOOD! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was so awesome. So zingy and fresh. Thanks for making me look so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Decent chicken dish to put in the once a month round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Very good recipe. The directions were right on, which isn't always the case. Was hoping for more of a curry taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
FANTASTIC! Didn't have cardamom but didn't miss it. We thought the sauce was slightly bitter from all of the spices, so we took an unconventional route and added a big scoop of apricot preserves. WOW! Definitely a keeper; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States