Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very tasty dish! Love the spices in this. A few changes I made: omitted cardamom (didn't have it), used 1 tsp ground cinnamon instead (should have used perhaps 1/2 or 3/4 tsp), grated the onion, garlic and ginger instead of processing it in food processor, used 10 chicken thighs instead and served with chapatti. Oh, also added some cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes as we like our food hot! a very delightful and rich curry-ish dish. Love it and will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Absolutely Delicious with a couple of "adjustments" I doubled the spices except the cumin which I tripled and used about a 3" piece of ginger root. I left out the bay leaves and didn't have nutmeg but would have used it if I had it on hand. I used 6 chicken breasts, 2 cans of tomatoes and added about 2 cups of chicken broth to give it lots of delicious sauce. I also added chopped fresh cilantro (just because I love it) and a head of cauliflower. I cooked it all in a slow cooker on high for 5 hours. A wonderful delicious Indian "Stew". Thank you so much for giving me the idea.mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I cooked for 45 mins covered and 45 mins uncovered. Changed nothing else and it was absolutely delicious. Great blend of flavors and not at all spicy so the whole family could eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is absolutely delicious! Beautiful flavors...I didn't change a thing - though I did not use a slow cooker. Just prepared in a large sauce pan. And cooked covered for on low for an hour. The chicken was so tender. Do not skip the food processor step - I served with Basmati rice and the family loved it. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Absolutely Awesome dish nothing more needs to be said...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deltona, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Wow, this is great! I often add potatoes, carrots, and celery, to make it a one-dish dinner. I generally use fresh tomatoes instead of canned and simply dice them before adding to the pan, so that they cook down and become part of the sauce. This freezes well, which is always a bonus in my books. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I have made this dish several times and have tweaked it a bit each time. My last revision was our favorite. I used all the spices but added about 1/8 tsp. more of each, used 6 half chicken breasts, cute into large cubes, added 3/4 can crushed tomatoes (28 oz.), 3/4 can coconut milk. I cooked 45 minutes covered and 30 minutes uncovered. When serving, I tossed thawed frozen peas on top along w/some fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My whole family loved this dish. It was easy to prepare. I substituted a pork tenderloin for the chicken. It was tender and flavorful. This recipe will go into regular dinner rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was so good! (I LOVE a filling meal that is low in calories) I doubled the recipe except for the chicken b/c I knew we'd like the extra sauce and it turned out perfectly when served on a bed of rice. I did add less nutmeg then called for and didn't have any ginger root on hand so I just sprinkled in some ginger. A five star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
We really liked this - very different than things we've had before. I did make changes - used a large tin of crushed tomatoes and added some water since they are thick (I realized that this is essentially much more tomato though than the recipe called for - I wanted lots of left over sauce, which I have). Added a bit more cumin and turmeric, as well as about a teaspoon of curry powder. Added on hot chile for some heat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States