Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have made this recipe dozens of times over the past couple of years since I found it on this website. I usually make it as written except I use curry leaves instead of bay leaves (doubling the recipe for leftovers at my families request). This recipe is as close as I have ever come to restaurant quality. Lately I have started adding 1-2 cans of Chic Peas with about 20 minutes left to cook. It adds a layer of flavor and texture that changes the recipe without compromising the original flavor. My 2 sons request this with the Chic Peas a couple of times a month. I serve it with high end basmati rice and naan bread. Lately I also add 1/2 - 1 teaspoon of Cheyenne pepper to up the heat a bit. I have doubled and tripled the garlic and ginger with success as well. I don't think you can add too much ginger with this recipe. Overall, this is a fun recipe to experiment with. Thanks Shecooks2 for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was a real hit at the pool party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
It was just OK. The chicken could definitely benefit from salting before cooking. I took other reviewers' advice and cooked 45 min covered and 45 uncovered, the sauce consistency was perfect this way. Probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was amazing. I used ground ginger & cinnamon, as I did not have fresh on hand. I also used allspice and nutmeg in place of the cardamom. It came out absolutely perfect, and I will definitely try it again with the recommended ingredients. I served this with green beans, steamed from frozen and tossed in the remaining sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaPrince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Excellent! Followed the recipe exactly, but used 1/4t cinnamon and an extra cut up tomato from my garden. Served with long grain rice and store-bought naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Easy to make, great tasting curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Surprised there was some heat to this but it was still mild enough for the kids. made as specified except without the cardamom since i didn't have any. still flavorful. Will try again with cardamom as this may make it perfect. easy to prepare. just threw everything into the crockpot on high for a few hours and turned down to low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I didn't have cardamom, so left it out; only had powdered ginger so used that. I didn't process the onion and spices into a paste. It still tasted great - very similar to an Indian restaurant dish! I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and loved the result, served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Kester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lamont, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is so good! But leave the cinnamon stick whole or you will be biting into small chunks of cinnamon bark. Read through reviews for good suggestions, the most important one is to double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Giving this 5 stars based on the changes made (although not many). We took 2 chicken breasts chopped into 1" cubes and cooked as per directions. Added 1/2 can of water after mixing in the diced tomatoes. Added 1 tsp or so of red curry paste for some heat. Simmered for 1/2 hour (until rice was cooked) then tossed in 20 prawns 10 minutes prior to serving. Served over a combination of basmati and Aztec Blend rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States