Indian Tandoori Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by jem2000
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I marinated the meat for a little over a day. Of course, I used more garlic and added salt. i also used a tsp more of garam masala. Definitely worth firing up the grlil. I served w/ grilled corn on the cob, and couscous w/ peas. Definitely, a very authentic taste. Oh..I used 4 whole chicken breasts with the wings attached. I skinned them and cut them up and had over 10 portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Made the chicken with thighs and drumsticks. Followed the recipe exactly, but left out the food colouring. Marinated for 24 hours. The chicken wasn't pink (despite what other reviewers have suggested) and it was delicious off the BBQ :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Perhaps I cooked it too long, but I thought it was really dry. My mom who has had Tandoori before thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Not bad - could have used more spice for sure. I thought 1 tsp of cayenne would be spicy and I don't like spicy food at all but it wasn't even remotely spicy!!! Next time I would add some more garam masala and some more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Turmeric will give it a nice orange color without the food coloring. Thanks so much--we love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
fabulous! easy and great taste. didnt use the food coloring. color was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Didn't like this tandoori chicken as much as another one from this site, it was missing a sauce. Tried to boil the marinade but silly me can't do that to yogurt, it curdles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkane47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This version is perfectly edible but pales, in MY opinion, when compared to Tandoori chicken generally available. I suspect that this may be the result of cooking at too low a temperature. A Tandoor is an Indian clay oven, where the temperatures regularly reach levels far hotter than the standard kitchen oven. I tried this recipe as specified and was disappointed, and I have given 3 stars as a result. I then cooked it at a much higher temperature, which resulted in a better consistency but dried it out too much. I finally slightly increased all the quantities of spices and yoghurt and cooked that on the highest heat I could, and found THAT would have rated 4.5 stars. So the spice combination is good, the principle is good, the cooking is not. I strongly reiterate that this is MY opinion. I also have a vague problem with using food colouring. By using Turmeric, you can get a good yellow colour without needing the artificiality of colouring, and tomato purée (or harissa if you like heat) can add a reddish tinge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canterbury, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was a very easy recipe to make and was extremly yummy to boot my family was very impressed also for the worlds pickiest eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, Montana, USA
Living In: Glasgow, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was delicious, despite my changes.... My review is for those that likes to alter the recipe for whatever reason... Well first, I used turkey tenderloins ( just what I had in freezer), I didn't use any food coloring ( didn't want to add artificial stuff ), and I sauteed half in pan, and broiled the other half ( to compare the taste). My conclusions is...using turkey was just as tender ( I marinated for 24 hours), Flavor was great but didn't look authentic because no food coloring, I would use food coloring next time. Definitely try to grill it for the smokey flavor next time because sauteed version was good ( better than the broiled) because of the caramelization. But for true Tandoori flavor, grilled would be soooo much better. I will try it again.... Flavor was very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States