Indian Tandoori Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Turned out exactly as I'd hoped. I marinated a split whole chicken for 48 hours, turning over every 12. Roasted it in the oven till 10 degrees below temperature then took to the grill to char and finish cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Ann White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pima, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Hubby and I loved this dish. Our five teens have regularly enjoyed food from other cultures since they were babes. I was surprised they collectively gave it a thumbs down. Chicken was moist and beautiful to look at. I followed recipe as written. Update = I whipped up an apricot dipping sauce for the leftover chicken since kids wouldn't eat it as is. Served it to them after school with rice and got rave reviews. The sweet sauce perfectly complimented the Tandoori chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
this was very good. I used around 3 lbs of chicken and used the same amount of yogurt, but upped the rest of the ingredients by half. I left out the food coloring. I left the skin on which in retrospect, I wish I had ripped it off. The flavor was great, but mostly just in the skin, not the meat :( I marinated it overnight. I used a combo pack of thighs and drums and bbq'd them over charcoal. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! I usually sub tandoori spice for the garam masala, and sometimes add some curry. No need for the artificial dye, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Made this and Diane F.'s tandoori chicken recipes for comparison; I followed the recipes pretty closely. Simmi's recipe calls for more yogurt than is necessary. I would recommend only about 3/4 cup of yogurt (for less waste). I omitted food coloring and used greek yogurt in lieu of regular plain yogurt. I baked the chicken at 400F for an hour on a rack over a cookie sheet; I used dark meat only with skin on. I prefer Diane F.'s recipe as it is more flavorful (the cinnamon, clove, and coriander helped amp up flavor and color). I served chicken with garlic naan from Trader Joe's (frozen section, made in India). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I loved this. So did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
really good in the oven as suggested. the longer it sits in the marinate the better, longer than 8 hrs for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
In the event you can't find garam masala, I used a quick recipe from Allrecipes that works well. Whole spices are best, but this is easy and quick: 1T ground cumin 1 1/2 t each ground coriander, cardamom, black pepper 1 t ground cinnamon 1/2 t ground cloves 1/2 t ground nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I elected to leave the food coloring out because I don't think it is so healthy for people. Also, I cooked this in the oven at 350 for 1.5 hours, as previously suggested. Thanks for this recipe, I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisasamm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States