Indian Tandoori Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This version is perfectly edible but pales, in MY opinion, when compared to Tandoori chicken generally available. I suspect that this may be the result of cooking at too low a temperature. A Tandoor is an Indian clay oven, where the temperatures regularly reach levels far hotter than the standard kitchen oven. I tried this recipe as specified and was disappointed, and I have given 3 stars as a result. I then cooked it at a much higher temperature, which resulted in a better consistency but dried it out too much. I finally slightly increased all the quantities of spices and yoghurt and cooked that on the highest heat I could, and found THAT would have rated 4.5 stars. So the spice combination is good, the principle is good, the cooking is not. I strongly reiterate that this is MY opinion. I also have a vague problem with using food colouring. By using Turmeric, you can get a good yellow colour without needing the artificiality of colouring, and tomato purée (or harissa if you like heat) can add a reddish tinge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canterbury, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was a very easy recipe to make and was extremly yummy to boot my family was very impressed also for the worlds pickiest eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, Montana, USA
Living In: Glasgow, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was delicious, despite my changes.... My review is for those that likes to alter the recipe for whatever reason... Well first, I used turkey tenderloins ( just what I had in freezer), I didn't use any food coloring ( didn't want to add artificial stuff ), and I sauteed half in pan, and broiled the other half ( to compare the taste). My conclusions is...using turkey was just as tender ( I marinated for 24 hours), Flavor was great but didn't look authentic because no food coloring, I would use food coloring next time. Definitely try to grill it for the smokey flavor next time because sauteed version was good ( better than the broiled) because of the caramelization. But for true Tandoori flavor, grilled would be soooo much better. I will try it again.... Flavor was very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I used only chicken thighs with the bone. Prep was really easy. I let it marinate about 7 hours. Absolutely delicious, will definitely make this again. My husband doesn't like"spicy" food so I cut the cayenne in half, still was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
For the yellow/orange color you can use turmeric and paprika (authentic tandoori is a burnt reddish/orange).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Great recipe - my Indian partner was amazed. It has become known as my 'pink chicken' as I didn't have any yellow food colouring but didn't affect the taste. Added extra green chillis to make the grade with fire eating other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Really, really good! I used light sour cream instead of yogurt but everything else was followed exactly. Moist and tasty right off the grill. I will make this again and try it in the oven to see if it stays as moist as the grilled version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
My husband is Pakistani so I have become a pretty good cook of Indian cuisine. This recipe was really good and my husband thought it was good as well. The only problem was it was not quite spicy enough for us. Pretty bland, but juicy and not dry. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulianaKennedy
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Leave out the dyes! Extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulianaKennedy
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very Good and so moist! I cut the chicken into strips to skewer on the grill before marinating which helped the marinating process along. I cut everything up into the marinade in the morning, and by 6pm it was ready to grill. I made this chicken with foil packs of veggies coated in dijon mustard, cumin, garlic, ginger, and vinigar and made a cuccumber salad with mint for a side. So good and great for planning ahead for an afternoon party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States