Indian Tandoori Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was very, very good. I had to adjust down the cayenne pepper for my kids, but the garam marsala gives the yogurt great flavor. I broiled the chicken instead of grilling (after marinating for roughly 18 hours). I served this with basmati rice and curried cauliflower. Also, I did use a little food coloring paste (orange left over from decorating Halloween sugar cookies) but you could also probably get similar results from using paprika/tumeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
very close in flavor to authentic but not exact. The texture is good but if you're looking for restaurant style tandoor chicken best go to the restaurant this is not for you. I added more heat and spice to the recipe since it seemed a bit bland for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meepandsnooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This chicken is good, but I wouldn't call it tandoori chicken at all-it's missing that outer crust that makes it so distinctive. The marinade had great flavor though so if I'm in the mood for Indian-flavored chicken, this is the recipe I'll use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msimps14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Marinated overnight and used chicken breast (all I had in house) and broiled. Turned out great. The only change I would make to the recipe would be to use turmeric, and more cayenne for color and heat. I would also use more gara masla next time. and not use the dye's, though i followed the recipe as written and the color was very good with the dye's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful- just like the restaurant. I used my George Foreman grill because it was too cold outside and can't imagine it could taste any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
It was good. Skipped the food coloring. Served w/ jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Instead of yellow food coloring, Turmeric works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Delicious and easy, would definitely make it again. Like others, I skipped the food coloring, but the family complained that it didn't look right, although it tasted great. I marinated for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This recipe is wonderful, but I found a way to leave the skin on. When putting the chicken in, to marinade, lift the skin and put the mixture under the skin as well as the outside. When you remove it from the grill, the chicken and the skin, both, have great taste!! Also, if you have a local city market, like we do in Kansas City, use Tandoori seasoning to give it the color and leave out the food coloring. It makes a huge differene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States