Indian Tandoori Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! I usually sub tandoori spice for the garam masala, and sometimes add some curry. No need for the artificial dye, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Made this and Diane F.'s tandoori chicken recipes for comparison; I followed the recipes pretty closely. Simmi's recipe calls for more yogurt than is necessary. I would recommend only about 3/4 cup of yogurt (for less waste). I omitted food coloring and used greek yogurt in lieu of regular plain yogurt. I baked the chicken at 400F for an hour on a rack over a cookie sheet; I used dark meat only with skin on. I prefer Diane F.'s recipe as it is more flavorful (the cinnamon, clove, and coriander helped amp up flavor and color). I served chicken with garlic naan from Trader Joe's (frozen section, made in India). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I loved this. So did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
really good in the oven as suggested. the longer it sits in the marinate the better, longer than 8 hrs for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
In the event you can't find garam masala, I used a quick recipe from Allrecipes that works well. Whole spices are best, but this is easy and quick: 1T ground cumin 1 1/2 t each ground coriander, cardamom, black pepper 1 t ground cinnamon 1/2 t ground cloves 1/2 t ground nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I elected to leave the food coloring out because I don't think it is so healthy for people. Also, I cooked this in the oven at 350 for 1.5 hours, as previously suggested. Thanks for this recipe, I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisasamm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This dish is so worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Its a good recipe, we ate it but it wasn't a favorite. I think the quality of your garam masala would greatly effect the finished dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Really good, just enough zip. The kids and I love to have it on Indian night when mom is at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States