Indian Tandoori Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I just made this recipe for my family and it was a hit, even for my teenage kid who does not like anything spicy. I reduced the cayenne pepper to only 1/2 teaspoons. I also used greek yogurt. Broiled it in the oven, with door slightly open, at about 15 minutes each side. Served this with rice and cucumber raita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Mad Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
OK, but it could be that I only had an hour to marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I doubled the garlic, ginger and the spices and would do so again. I also skipped the food coloring (??) and used about a tsp of turmeric instead. I only had time to marinate for about 6 hours but the chicken was extremely flavorful and juicy. Served with homemade peanut sauce on the side and Onion Rice from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
We just used a whole cut up chicken. thought it was flavorful however I feel the food color is completely unnecessary. out chicken came out a pinkish color which I am sure is an ode to the original dish but I will be leaving it out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was very good. I followed the exact recipe. I only gave it four stars as it is not truly Tandoori chicken unless you cook it in a Tandoor over. This is as close as you get to the real thing without investing hundreds of dollars on a special cooker. We had several people over for an Indian dinner and this was everyone's favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Wow did this turn out great. Made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Beautiful recipe! I grilled it, like the recipe says, and it came out perfect! To 'Ani', that is the most ignorant review I've ever read. There is nothing remotely hard to follow in this recipe. Even worse, the author gave you the alternate cooking method and YET you chose to do it your own way instead. Therefore, the only person to blame for your dissatisfaction, is yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I made this with 2 teaspoons of annatto/achiote seeds instead of the food coloring, and a few substitutions of necessity. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Tasted pretty good, but next time I'd definitely skip the food coloring. What a mess! Unless you want to be wiping up playdoh fluorescent pink colored yogurt from everything in your kitchen, leave out the food coloring!! I marinated about 24 hours and grilled on a George Forman. It tasted good and was pretty mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States