Indian Tacos with Yeast Fry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This Fry Bread recipe was so good and we all loved it! The only thing I did differently was I used my bread machine on the dough cycle to make the dough and it worked very well. I tried rolling them out thinner and as a result bigger in diameter after the first few I did but next time I make these I'll leave them a little thicker and smaller. The thinner ones tended to bubble up with air pockets more so when frying then the thicker ones did. They all tasted fantastic though so I will be making these over and over. Both my adult sons liked them better than the store bought taco shells. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Recipe says to cut dough into 6 pieces, but header says makes enough for 12???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I enjoyed the fry bread as a taco shell. Will be making this more often. Am planning to share this with friends who want to have tacos without the store bought tortilla shells. The only thing I did not care for was the oily fingers I got while eating the tacos. The yeast dough gets nice and light, easy to mix and roll out. The leftovers are great with a little honey drizzled over them. Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Peiffer
Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
this is the best recipe. it reminds me of my Grandmother us to make. home style cooking its a must in our home..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIXIEDARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
IN MY TEENS MY FRIEND'S MOTHER MADE FRY BREAD FOR ALMOST EVERY MEAL - TRUE INDIAN FROM MINNESOTA - BROUGHT BACK SO MANY MEMORIES - I HAVE LOOKED FOR THIS RECIPE AND NEVER FOUND IT - THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
These are my absolute favorite fry bread recipe! We are from South Dakota too and these are just the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This brings back memory of my grandmother who use to make these when I was a child. I followed the recipe but I let it sit after mixing the dough together for about 2 hours. It came out just as I remember when my grandma made it. Thank you so much. I used a few other recipes I found online but didn't come out right. This is the real deal. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Used your recipe for the bread section of the dish. It came out beautiful! Super tasty golden brown bread. It was just like I remembered them from my childhood. When visiting my Native American friend, her mom would make this for us... YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I was looking for an easy frybread recipe, that my family would love and being a South Dakota native I found it I would like to say Thank You BETSY4020, I have made just the frybread on multiple occasions =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was great! I too was trying to recreate the taste of South Dakota fry bread!Lived and worked on Rosebud Indian Reservation and had these on numerous occasions. I loved them! It turned out fabulous and was super easy! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States