Indian Tacos with Yeast Fry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
IN MY TEENS MY FRIEND'S MOTHER MADE FRY BREAD FOR ALMOST EVERY MEAL - TRUE INDIAN FROM MINNESOTA - BROUGHT BACK SO MANY MEMORIES - I HAVE LOOKED FOR THIS RECIPE AND NEVER FOUND IT - THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
These are my absolute favorite fry bread recipe! We are from South Dakota too and these are just the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This brings back memory of my grandmother who use to make these when I was a child. I followed the recipe but I let it sit after mixing the dough together for about 2 hours. It came out just as I remember when my grandma made it. Thank you so much. I used a few other recipes I found online but didn't come out right. This is the real deal. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Used your recipe for the bread section of the dish. It came out beautiful! Super tasty golden brown bread. It was just like I remembered them from my childhood. When visiting my Native American friend, her mom would make this for us... YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I was looking for an easy frybread recipe, that my family would love and being a South Dakota native I found it I would like to say Thank You BETSY4020, I have made just the frybread on multiple occasions =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was great! I too was trying to recreate the taste of South Dakota fry bread!Lived and worked on Rosebud Indian Reservation and had these on numerous occasions. I loved them! It turned out fabulous and was super easy! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing. I am a 42 year old Native American who loves cooking. I have been making fry-bread for over 20 years. Although this is a great recipe, I did alter it slightly. I used evaporated milk and cut the water in 1/2; using 1/2 milk and 1/2 water. I prefer my bread a little sweeter so added more sugar than it calls for. I also let the bread rise for about 40 minutes w/ a damp towel covering it before frying. I really like that I was able to switch the servings to 35 and the recipe adjusted the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I've only made the fry bread, but about half a dozen times. It's the "money" part of the recipe, honestly! The rest is for the person eating the taco to decide. I'm a fan of my refried beans, guacamole and cheese. When we're done eating dinner, I shake the leftover fry bread in cinnamon and sugar. The bread is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I think this was a great recipe. The fry bread was wonderful and easy to make. The dough rolled out well. The recipe stated that it made 6 fry breads. These were as big as dinner plates. Make sure you have plenty of paper towels to absorb the oil. Nobody in my family could eat the whole thing. I did tweak the recipe by using 1/2 pound of Johnsonville hot Italian sausage and 1/2 pound of mild Italian sausage instead of hamburger. The Johnsonville sausage gave the Indian fry bread a kick that I really liked. I topped the fry bread with refried beans, added the meat mixture and then all the other toppings. If I make this recipe again I would leave out the tomatoes, tomato paste and suggested seasonings. I will fry the Italian sausage with 1/2 cup of onions. Then mix 1/4 cup of chopped green chili. I would add the refried beans and Italian sausage mixture to the fry bread. Toppings would include lettuce, tomatoes, cheddar cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The best frybread I have ever had! soooo yummy! Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States