Indian Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by andrea
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Great recipe, the only thing I'll change when I make it again is I would shorten the lentil cooking time, because red lentils are so small they don't need 15 minutes on top of the 15 for the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wonderfully delicious! As a vegan, this hit the spot! On a side note, this soup needs more liquid to be considered a "soup". I added a 12 oz can of light coconut milk, a diced and peeled granny smith apple, and a small serano chille with seeds removed and minced instead of the red pepper flakes. IT was out of this world!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I loved this recipe. I'm not vegetarian, so I added some cubed beef (browned first before adding the onion) and I accidentally picked up a yam instead of a sweet potato (laugh, go on), but it was great. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
2 out of 4 of us loved this! It has a nice sweet taste. My husband didn't think it was enough for dinner, just as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I didn't have any spinach or masala and only ground red pepper and only 2 cloves of garlic (was a grocery week), so on a whim I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and about 1/2 teaspoon of curry. My 4 year old ate 3 bowls of it and my picky sister asked for the recipe, even my meat at every meal husband loved it, but I agree with other posters, its better if served with something a little crunchy like polenta croutons or some toasted baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Great for when what you have on hand is sweet potatoes and spinach, since we always stock lentils and broth. This made a hearty, tasty dinner that I felt really happy about feeding my family. I could NOT find the garam masala in the pantry, so I threw in some curry powder. Timing on recipe was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Wow! This soup is fabulous. Great flavours. I followed it to the letter, yum! Filling and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I read a lot of the reviews beforehand and like one other cook, I felt it was missing something so I modified it mid way thru cook time. It was VERY good with these additions: Scaled to 10 servings: Omit spinach I omitted "red pepper flakes" and used 1/2 tsp ground red pepper from the Indian store. 1 T ground coriander 2 cinnamon bark (about 2" each) from Indian store (remove before serving) 1 T curry powder 3-4 Tablespoons sugar at the end (this may be a little sweet for others, I suggest using 2 T and add to taste) Little bit of salt I blended a few ladles full of cooked lentils and added back to the soup for some thickness. The Lentils will have a crunch, they are not overcooked or mushy when you follow cook times on recipe. I really liked it this way. My vegan friend and non vegan husband liked it. I froze what we wont eat in the next 2 days, it doesn't contain anything that will curdle so I suspect the freeze wont hurt it a bit. It is definitely better the next day after the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This was really good, and very simple to make. I followed the recipe exactly and the lentils were a little underdone for my taste, but I will definitely make this again. The sweet potato was a really nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Rich in flavor - a winner! I doubled it (including the spices) the first time I made it. Added a pinch of cinnamon too. Tasted remarkably close to the soup enjoyed in an ethnic restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States