Indian Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This bread was very good, and I like the fact that I didn't have to make a special trip to the store to get the ingredients! I intend to serve this as an after school snack! I really enjoyed this recipe, once I made the following adjustments: I had to add a BIT more water (gradually) so that I could work with the dough. The recipe didn't specify to do so, but I did chill the dough prior to baking, with good results. Also, I added the "three sisters," cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, to the sugar I put on the dough. I also doubled this recipe, and it was BARELY enough, everyone liked it so well! I followed the directions for rolling out and frying, but after about four of them, mine were too doughy, and I personally don't like oil, so I took the rest of the flattened balls (I rolled all of them and the flattened them all at once), laid them out and cut them into strips with a pizza cutter and baked at 345 until golden! Served with honey butter, and both blackberry and strawberry preserves (and vanilla ice cream), these went faster than I could bake them! The next time I make this recipe, I'm going to try baking small rounds of it over inverted ramikens to make little edible dessert bowls. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I substituted flour for pancake mix. I was looking for an easy recipe for my fiance' to make. I rolled them a little thinner than recipe called for, and fried them as directed. They were very good, even with pancake mix. I then mixed some butter and honey together to make honey butter and dipped the bread into the butter. MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
Very simple to make. I substituted 1/4 of the flour with whole wheat pastry flour and liked the "nutty" taste that resulted. Very similar to chapatti, just sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTROPHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This recipe was so easy and wonderful. Tip: I added sliced banannas to the center before re-rolling it, and it tastes just like bananna roti I used to eat in Chaing Mai, Thailand. Drizzle some sweetend condensend milk on top for the truly authentic version. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Really good, and simple, since these ingredients are always on hand. Also can be made more or less sweet with the amount of sugar added. Requires some messy rolling, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
you need to sprinkle this with sugar at the end or it is just a tortilla. and dont roll them out thin, roll them out medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
i liked this a lot. its REALLY delicious if u use brown sugar, too- but keep it away frum the edges and really coat it in flour so the sugar doesnt burn. i rolled it in some cornmeal, also, for added flavor and crunch. after making the balls, i just made however many of the breads i wanted, then refridgerated the rest for when i wanted to make some. My only complaint is that it takes a lot of effort to roll it thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This was great! it reminded me of a flat version of pita bread. the only thing I would do different next time is add more sugar, and roll it paper thing before cooking it. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I used cinnamon and sugar to make this a great flat bread to put my favorite fruit pie filling on: Apple. These also go well with apple butter, peaches and just about any other fruit one can think of to make a quick, easy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I hate working with dough, but this is a REALLY simple recipe and I loved the sweetness of the bread. I used about a teaspoon of sugar or so with each golf-sized dough ball and these came out wonderful! I will definitely make again, maybe using some other spices too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States