Indian Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
Very simple to make. I substituted 1/4 of the flour with whole wheat pastry flour and liked the "nutty" taste that resulted. Very similar to chapatti, just sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTROPHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Really good, and simple, since these ingredients are always on hand. Also can be made more or less sweet with the amount of sugar added. Requires some messy rolling, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I substituted flour for pancake mix. I was looking for an easy recipe for my fiance' to make. I rolled them a little thinner than recipe called for, and fried them as directed. They were very good, even with pancake mix. I then mixed some butter and honey together to make honey butter and dipped the bread into the butter. MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Just a great recipe to know. Nice and basic. Thank you for sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I hate working with dough, but this is a REALLY simple recipe and I loved the sweetness of the bread. I used about a teaspoon of sugar or so with each golf-sized dough ball and these came out wonderful! I will definitely make again, maybe using some other spices too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This is good. I used about a teaspoon of sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I thought it tasted okay, my hubby thought it tasted like flour tortilla with sugar and he ate almost all of it. I added cinnamon and sugar together to give it a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Wonderfully easy recipe! Instead of using flour to roll the dough, I used a very fine corn meal, for just a little something extra flavour wise, and for a slight crispness. Love serving them with pumpkin soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
If you're in the mood for a sweet bread, these roti will quickly hit the spot. With ingredients virtually no kitchen is without, it isn't necessary to plan ahead to make them. The dough comes together quickly, and they cook up fast on the stovetop. The sugar lamination is a pleasant surprise when you bite into them. They're certainly no pastries, but for their intended purpose as a simple, sweet flatbread, they more than merely fit the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This recipe was so easy and wonderful. Tip: I added sliced banannas to the center before re-rolling it, and it tastes just like bananna roti I used to eat in Chaing Mai, Thailand. Drizzle some sweetend condensend milk on top for the truly authentic version. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States