Indian Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Really thought this was so easy. My husband is Indian and we have this all the time, was happy to have found the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I ate mine with apple butter for a quick snack. Simple but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Pretty good. I substituted the white flour for wheat flour cup for cup. I liked it best with a truly light sprinkling of sugar--just enough to complement the salt and nutty wheat while keeping it from being a dessert. This went great with Lentil Soup (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Lentil-Soup/Detail.aspx) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
you need to sprinkle this with sugar at the end or it is just a tortilla. and dont roll them out thin, roll them out medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Fun, easy, and delicious. What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Fanther

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Yummy, and an easy bread to make, but involves a lot of rolling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
My whole family just loved this. I used this as the finish to an Indian food night and everyone just went wild for it. It was so easy and fun to make. I drizzled honey over it to add some extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This was great! it reminded me of a flat version of pita bread. the only thing I would do different next time is add more sugar, and roll it paper thing before cooking it. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This bread was very good, and I like the fact that I didn't have to make a special trip to the store to get the ingredients! I intend to serve this as an after school snack! I really enjoyed this recipe, once I made the following adjustments: I had to add a BIT more water (gradually) so that I could work with the dough. The recipe didn't specify to do so, but I did chill the dough prior to baking, with good results. Also, I added the "three sisters," cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, to the sugar I put on the dough. I also doubled this recipe, and it was BARELY enough, everyone liked it so well! I followed the directions for rolling out and frying, but after about four of them, mine were too doughy, and I personally don't like oil, so I took the rest of the flattened balls (I rolled all of them and the flattened them all at once), laid them out and cut them into strips with a pizza cutter and baked at 345 until golden! Served with honey butter, and both blackberry and strawberry preserves (and vanilla ice cream), these went faster than I could bake them! The next time I make this recipe, I'm going to try baking small rounds of it over inverted ramikens to make little edible dessert bowls. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I made it a little thicker than called for. It was like a slightly sweet tortilla. Goes great with anything spicy. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States