Indian Style Sheekh Kabab Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was an excellent recipe, although I made it with yellow curry paste. I recommend eating it with the cucumber raita recipe from here..and pita bread..an Indian soulvaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
When I hear someone say that they don't like lamb, I know that haven't had lamb cooked right. This is lamb cooked right. The combination of herbs and spices blend together to mask any "gamey" flavors. It is also the first time I know of where I had lamb, liked it and it didn't have any garlic in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Excellent! MashaAllah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Delicious. As others have mentioned, using half ground beef, half lamb works very well. I used the rest of my raw beef-lamb mixture for pastitsio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
3/5/06 This is a great recipe - I LOVE the combination of mint and cilantro! Also, when I make kebabs (Indian or Greek) I often use half ground lamb, half ground beef - the flavor is really excellent, and the meat stays a little more moist than if using just lamb. I serve these on warm split naan breads or paratha with a drizzle of cucumber raita. With a leafy salad, some onion chutney, and a couple of pappadums, this makes an awesome meal. 8/9/07 Made these again for lunch today. Absolutely outstanding. I'd forgotten how much I love them! Thanks so much, Yakuta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I thought these kababs tasted fantastic. The chopped mint and cilantro really adds a lot of flavor. I did, however, make a few changes. I made the kababs as stated substituting ground beef for lamb and minced chilies instead of green chile paste. I allowed the mixture to marinate overnight (the longer the better), brushed the patties with olive oil, and grilled them on my George Foreman grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I used the food processor to chop the onion and cilantro and had no problems with it falling apart. Only had dried mint so used 1 tbsp. of that. I waited a few hours and took a small portion of it and made a 'sample' hamburger to see what needed to be tweeked. It tasted very nice and I could see it would hold together for kabobs. I did add 1 tsp. of allspice because having company from Jordan for dinner so wanted to tweak this a little middle eastern. Soaked the skewers first so I would not need to call the fire dept. later. Put these on the broiler pan lined w/aluminum foil brushed w/oil and put them in the broiler. These would be great on the summer grill. Served these with "Red Lentil Curry" and "Indian Spiced Rice" here on allrecipes and it made a very nice meal. Great presentation on the skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
very nice and yummy recipes. It was easy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
I did something a bit different: I used turkey instead of lamb. And I don't use the two pastes (since I don't have them), but add a bit of ginger powder instead. My adjusted version has always turned out amazingly well. I have done it several times, and even grilled them on a George Forman grill a few times - they always turn out great and get fabulous reviews from my friends (Many people have asked for the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
These were simple and had almost all been eaten before the plate hit the table - wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Parker

Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States