Indian Style Sheekh Kabab Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I always have ground lamb in my freezer for this dish -it's so cheap. I don't make it too hot and usually use what I have in the cupboards (cumin and coriander are a must). I serve this with an amazing greek yoghurt and salad or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Great! Tastes like the ones in the resturaunts. Everyone loved it. Tastes better if you fry or grill them extra crisp and drizzle with lime juice. I found the spices too strong so I reduced them by half. For a healthier alternatve, try mixing chicken and lamb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Great recipe. I left out the mint because my husband hates it. I did make a sauce with yogurt, garlic, chopped onions and chopped cilantro that really added to the dish, I thought. Love the flavours. Did some grilled eggplant and basmati rice and pitas on the side. Great dinner. A little different from the usual! I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This was pretty good, but not quite the flavor I was looking for. This one has a very "bright" flavor, with the mint and the cilantro etc. I froze the leftovers, and I do plan on eating them sometime. It's not that I didn't like it, it's just that I was looking for a "darker" flavor... if that makes sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Great flavours, and very easy to do. My kids made these for their Papa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tockington, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I made with 2 separate batches, one with beef and other with chicken. Chicken was way too wet and did not hold together on the skewer. Used about a cup of breadcrumbs, which did not help either. Beef kebabs turned out well, but still required about 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs for it to hold together. I noticed someone using flour to hold together falafels, may use that next time. Will make again but cut down the amount of mint and increase coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was an excellent recipe, although I made it with yellow curry paste. I recommend eating it with the cucumber raita recipe from here..and pita bread..an Indian soulvaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
When I hear someone say that they don't like lamb, I know that haven't had lamb cooked right. This is lamb cooked right. The combination of herbs and spices blend together to mask any "gamey" flavors. It is also the first time I know of where I had lamb, liked it and it didn't have any garlic in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Excellent! MashaAllah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Delicious. As others have mentioned, using half ground beef, half lamb works very well. I used the rest of my raw beef-lamb mixture for pastitsio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States