Indian Style Sheekh Kabab Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe! I usually make it with lean ground beef instead of lamb. I have never used mint - instead I use double the amount of coriander leaves. I usually do have to add bread crumbs to the mixture to help it stay together. I have made this both with and without skewers. Without skewers, I just shape them into smaller kebabs. I usually broil these for about 5 minutes, then turn them and broil for about another 5 minutes but they do have to be watched quite closely as they cook very quickly. Thanks, Yakuta for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I used lean beef instead of lambs, and put the chopped chiles, ginger, and onion in the food processor. I added bread crumbs and refrigerated but still had a problem with the kebabs falling apart on the grill. We liberally oiled the grill grates, but the kebabs kept sticking to the grill, and were ripped apart when we turned them. These still tasted wonderful, and I will make them again but I will shape them into patties instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I broiled patties of this tasty meat mixture and WOW!! really great!! A little over salty but I'll fix that next time. I want to try this on the grill. I served with a little yogurt, the carrot peanut salad on this site, hummus, naan and plain green peas. Terrific Dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was AWESOME! I love cilantro so the flavor was fantastic to me! I'd make it again over and over except for my husband was a bit overwhelmed with the same cilantro I love so much. He did like it better as leftovers, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Flavorful, moist, and adjustable! I used ground turkey, fresh ginger (kept in freezer and grated finely), and canned chopped green chilis. I also had to add 1 cup of bread crumbs to give the turkey some binding ability. My family has asked me to make more next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is a fantastic, flavorful recipe that my family and friends love. Couple of suggestions for preparation And serving; We use lean beef instead of lamb just because it's more economical. It's difficult to form the meat around skewers, so form them first and then just insert the skewers. This pairs well on Greek pita bread with humus, cucumbers, lettuce and tomato's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Love this recipe and really folks, you can't substiture lamb for anything else. It may taste ok but it won't be Sheekh Kabab. I'm a big lamb fan and so is my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Excellent recipe that also works well with a ground beef and sausage mixture. Try using flat skewers (if you can find them) and the meat will not spin when you try to turn it on the grill. And as someone else mentioned...chop ingredients very fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Awsome, awsome awsome. We made these for a dinner party and they were a huge sucess. We added bread crumbs as well and I can see why it helped. Served with a yogurt sauce this is our new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
My kids loved this as did I! I did make a few changes....I used a mixture of lamb and beef and omitted the cilantro for parsley (as one of my kids hates cilantro). Deelish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States