Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Quite tasty. I added onions,ginger and garlic as well as some mushrooms which added a bit more flavor. Nice exotic recipe for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Rice turned out really good, nice and tasty I used yellow raisins, and pine nuts instead of the cashews. Served with Lamb and Garlic Naan, was yummy. made for my 3 brothers. no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYTRUTH20

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This was nice and exotic. I was surprised by the instruction to sautee the uncooked rice, which promptly got a little burnt by my overacheiving stovetop, but otherwise everything went off without a hitch. With the coconut milk, it comes out very creamy. My boyfriend said that the taste is unfamiliar but good (We don't eat much Indian food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I made a mistake and used cream of coconut (sweet) instead of coconut milk and my whole family loved it! Then I made it again with the coconut milk and they liked it, but not nearly as much. I personally thought it was too sweet with the cream of coconut, but will try it again using less than a whole can. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was so good! I substituted vegetable broth to make a delicious vegetarian main meal. I followed the directions just as it said and it came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
A fantastic recipe. Made it almost exactly as written, except I had no tumeric and used curry powder instead. Wonderful side dish--different and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
My husband & I loved this recipe! The spices were perfect and the house smelled wonderful as it was cooking. The only adjustment I will make next time is to use light coconut milk and a 1/2 cup of cashew pieces, to see if it lightens it up the recipe calorie-wise. I served this alongside Country Captain Chicken and Indian Cauliflower (the later is also on this site). Finally garnishing this with fresh cilantro definitely gives it an added umph, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Wow, this is tasty! And very easy to make! I added ~1/2c. onions for extra flavor and I think it helped. I also made sure to rehydrate my raisins as best I could before they went into the rice (covered in boiling water for ~10 min, drained). Everyone enjoyed and it was gone between the 6 of us. Next time I'll add onions and maybe mushrooms, too. Thanks Michelle! *Update* Delicious with Vegetarian Korma! Mmm yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was a huge hit with my family! Served with Grilled turkey & cheddar paninis with mango chutney. Yum! Basmati rice takes way longer than 20 minutes to cook but, I knew that ahead of time. Probably cooked mine for about 40 minutes. It came out perfect. Was a very nice Indian dinner and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tinpotcook
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
You can not go wrong. add this and that and it still works. we like more chilli out here in AU Tintaldra it's by the Murray River. The Curry's will be Hot next weekend. Love Tinpotcook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinpotcook

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States