Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This was nice and exotic. I was surprised by the instruction to sautee the uncooked rice, which promptly got a little burnt by my overacheiving stovetop, but otherwise everything went off without a hitch. With the coconut milk, it comes out very creamy. My boyfriend said that the taste is unfamiliar but good (We don't eat much Indian food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Quite tasty. I added onions,ginger and garlic as well as some mushrooms which added a bit more flavor. Nice exotic recipe for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Great recipe! Easy to make and delicious. I added some chopped, sauteed onion as well as a handful of dried cranberries. Served it to three men and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This is absolutely delicious. The combination of flavors is outstanding. We omitted the raisins because my husband and I don't like them, but it was great with only the cashews. I have made this twice already and will continue to make it again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Windham, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was so good! I substituted vegetable broth to make a delicious vegetarian main meal. I followed the directions just as it said and it came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Pretty good. Very exotic. Try using sweetened coconut milk, it compliment the raisian nicely. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
A fantastic recipe. Made it almost exactly as written, except I had no tumeric and used curry powder instead. Wonderful side dish--different and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Rice turned out really good, nice and tasty I used yellow raisins, and pine nuts instead of the cashews. Served with Lamb and Garlic Naan, was yummy. made for my 3 brothers. no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYTRUTH20

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by tinpotcook
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
You can not go wrong. add this and that and it still works. we like more chilli out here in AU Tintaldra it's by the Murray River. The Curry's will be Hot next weekend. Love Tinpotcook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinpotcook

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This is one interesting recipe. I used brown rice and substituted the coconut milk with soy milk. I found the raisins made this dish sweet while the spices made it savory, and the blend was odd, but 1 T. of sugar solved that problem. The adults enjoyed this creamy dish, but it was a bit too different for the younger palates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States