Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
If you are looking for a good Indian rice , you have found it. I had never made Indian rice before so wanted to try a recipe that wouldn't be too spicey. This was delicious and very creamy with the addition of the coconut milk. I had plenty left over for 2 more meals . One I added chicken and hope to use the other left over rice with another Indian vegetable recipe. This is really delicious , if you haven't tried basmati rice before here is your chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Unbelievable! I made this with an chicken curry dish and my husband's eyes rolled into the back of his head in sheer pleasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Raschke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Very very favorful, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was yummy. I felt it lacked one small thing but I couldnt put my finger on what it needs. Will make again and play around with it. Thanks for getting me started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivinOurLuvSong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Great rice dish! I used jasmine rice (rinsed well), and a handful of dried cranberries too. I also omitted the cashews... Great addition to our meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Didn't have everything on the list, but it turned out great anyway. Very rich because of the coconut milk. Served it with Tikka Masala, Nann and some Indian sauces/chutnies...very impressive. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Great stuff! I added some green beans to up the veggies and it worked out perfectly as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Pretty tasty. But it's missing something. The flavor, honestly, is a bit bland, except when you bit into a raisin. I think I'll try the onion/garlic suggestion next time. BTW, this recipe makes A LOT so be sure you adjust for the size of the crowd you're feeding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyBill

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Wow--this was so easy for a really creamy, delicious rice. I didn't have turmeric and added a 1/2 t curry. I also used lite coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
A super duper recipe! We love Indian food and this is such a great dish! You can dress it up with chicken, beef or pork or keep it vegetarian - any way, it is superb! It makes great leftovers too! I used Penzey's Sweet Curry powder and Trader Joe's salted cashews and there is nothing I would change at all about this gem of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States