Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was a fantastic rice side dish. I upped the red pepper flakes as we like spicy food. The presentation looked wonderful and the taste was creamy, spicy and wonderful on the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
My husband & I loved this recipe! The spices were perfect and the house smelled wonderful as it was cooking. The only adjustment I will make next time is to use light coconut milk and a 1/2 cup of cashew pieces, to see if it lightens it up the recipe calorie-wise. I served this alongside Country Captain Chicken and Indian Cauliflower (the later is also on this site). Finally garnishing this with fresh cilantro definitely gives it an added umph, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Amazing!! Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This rice was wonderful. Lots of flavor and texture with the cashews and raisins. Easy to make and delicious. It is even better the next day. I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Wow, this is tasty! And very easy to make! I added ~1/2c. onions for extra flavor and I think it helped. I also made sure to rehydrate my raisins as best I could before they went into the rice (covered in boiling water for ~10 min, drained). Everyone enjoyed and it was gone between the 6 of us. Next time I'll add onions and maybe mushrooms, too. Thanks Michelle! *Update* Delicious with Vegetarian Korma! Mmm yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I did everything the recipe said, and it still had no flavor:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is the tastiest rice I've had to date! I don't like raisins or nuts in my Indian dishes though so I leave those out along with the chili flakes because I have young children eating it. I LOVE this rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Perfect with a spicy Indian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
i used Golden Raisins and Roasted Garlic & Bell Pepper seasoning blend from McCormick, a Pinch. Served with Citrus Grilled Chicken and stir fried Broccoli with onion,red and yellow bell peppers. Delicious addition. My 13 year old had 2nds and when I told her it had coconut milk in the recipe I got a "your a cool Mom" look. thanks for the great alternative to plain old rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela S. Leitzen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Sunday nights, I usually go all out. It's family night. Instead of going out to a restaurant, I love cooking at home. I love creating or simply looking up a great recipe on allrecipes.com. I decided to try "Indian". I made chicken tikka masala and I tried this recipe. It was great. I also made naan bread, cucumber raita and mango chutney. My family was so impressed. This rice recipe was so full of flavor and mild at the same time. Great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillycooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States