Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was a huge hit with my family! Served with Grilled turkey & cheddar paninis with mango chutney. Yum! Basmati rice takes way longer than 20 minutes to cook but, I knew that ahead of time. Probably cooked mine for about 40 minutes. It came out perfect. Was a very nice Indian dinner and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made this as directed except subed Curry for the Turmeric and it was great! Creamy and delicous right out of the pan, although the next day it had dried out alot. I may try adding extra broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
easy to make, love the raisins and nuts in there ... the coconut milk is what makes this rice so tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I added 1/2 cup of sauteed onion, some fresh cilantro, and (imho) lots of curry to make this like the Indian take out we usually get. Boys loved this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Excellent rice dish! As I began cooking it, I realized (and was shocked) that I was OUT of raisins...extremely unusual for me! Disappointed, I carried on...the rice was still fantastic, but I know the raisins would complete the dish! Super yummy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This rice is so sweet and just delicious. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was a fantastic rice side dish. I upped the red pepper flakes as we like spicy food. The presentation looked wonderful and the taste was creamy, spicy and wonderful on the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
My husband & I loved this recipe! The spices were perfect and the house smelled wonderful as it was cooking. The only adjustment I will make next time is to use light coconut milk and a 1/2 cup of cashew pieces, to see if it lightens it up the recipe calorie-wise. I served this alongside Country Captain Chicken and Indian Cauliflower (the later is also on this site). Finally garnishing this with fresh cilantro definitely gives it an added umph, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Amazing!! Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This rice was wonderful. Lots of flavor and texture with the cashews and raisins. Easy to make and delicious. It is even better the next day. I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States