Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I really enjoyed this rice dish, it was easy to make and tasty. I served it with carrots and broccoli, and the 'Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken' recipe I found on here which was also very tasty,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a nice rice dish to go along with curries or masala dishes. I did not have raisins or cashews so I substituted with dried cranberries and toasted pine nuts. Colorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiaDys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I took others suggestions and added about a half cup of onion. I sautéed it with the rice. I also usedngolden raisins and added dried cranberries, madjool dates and a small amount of fresh ginger. This was very delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Amazing flavors blended...Love, Love, Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
wasn't as exciting as I was expecting given all the glowing reviews. Not much in the way of flavor; kind of bland really. I think I might have overcooked it though...ended up tasting kind of like a couscous dish. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used one cup of rice and a can of Campbell's chicken broth the first time around. My husband couldn't stop raving about it and even took it to work the next day and ate it by itself without any meat or veggies. When I cooked it a second time and followed the rice measurements it didn't turn out as well. Plus I substituted the chicken stock with 1 chicken bouillon cube melted in 2 cups of boiling water. The dish just didn't taste as magnificent as the first go round. But what a wonderful easy recipe. I immediately added it to my favourites list and shared it with my sister. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Yummy! It can be a little more spicy but overall a great side dish and one that I will make often from now on! Not to mention the bright yellow color makes it very presentable for company. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very good. After reading other reviews, I increased spices. Increased Tumeric to 1/3 tsp , added 1/4 tsp Curry powder, 2 tbsp onion, two shakes Cayenne powder (had no pepper flakes) and a shake of Cinnamon. I didn't have Cashew nuts so tried Walnut but not keen, so used Salted Peanuts which worked well. Raisins are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Super yummy but could maybe use more seasoning and some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I used a nut mix and added chick peas for extra protein. I will be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States