Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Made this according to directions; turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Loved this, I omitted the nuts because my husband doesn't like them and the red pepper flakes so my kids could eat it. The raisins added a nice sweet touch, I thought a teaspoon of salt was a bit much so I omitted 1/4 teaspoon and replaced it with sugar. Also I only had one can of broth so I didn't add the extra quarter can but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was good and easy to make, just keep an eye on the rice when you fry it for the first step. People are complaining that it was bland, but I don't think it's supposed to be anything other than what it is. You get savory and sweet together. It's a mellow dish. Not every Indian dish is in-your-face spicy/spiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Amazing Indian rice! Very tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I'm not a fan of Cashews or Raisins so made it without and added grated carrots. I also didn't have basmati rice so used a wild rice blend, just cooked it longer, and it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
We are a vegetarian family so I substituted the chicken stock for vegetable stock. The flavor was wonderful and it got rave reviews when I cooked it for Community Dinner. I adjusted the recipe to make 25 servings and it was still a little chewy after an hour of cooking. That being said I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I really enjoyed this rice dish, it was easy to make and tasty. I served it with carrots and broccoli, and the 'Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken' recipe I found on here which was also very tasty,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a nice rice dish to go along with curries or masala dishes. I did not have raisins or cashews so I substituted with dried cranberries and toasted pine nuts. Colorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiaDys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I took others suggestions and added about a half cup of onion. I sautéed it with the rice. I also usedngolden raisins and added dried cranberries, madjool dates and a small amount of fresh ginger. This was very delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Amazing flavors blended...Love, Love, Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States