Indian Style Chicken Breasts with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Like most "Indian style" recipes I've tried here, this dish lacked a real authentic taste. However, with a few changes (more spices, doubling the sauce, a pinch of brown sugar), it turned out to be a quick and different weeknight fix. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Surprisingly good, much better than I expected. The name is apt: it isn't anything like you'd get at an Indian restaurant but the flavor is fairly Indian-style. Like other reviewers, the dish grew on me as I ate it. And leftovers were even better, probably because the flavors coalesced overnight. One suggestion/warning: the recipe calls for 2-4 minutes of cooking the sauce uncovered at the end to reduce make it less liquidy. I had to do this for 30 minutes or so to get it more stew-like and appropriate for spooning over the chicken. So plan on this extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This was pretty good..a three star on my rating scale. I went with a few minor substitutions. I only had canned stewed tomatoes so I used those instead of fresh. I also added some zucchini that I needed to use up. If I make it again I will probably use chicken thighs. White meat seems to dry out when cooked for a long time. Otherwise not bad for a quick easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This was really good and very easy. I wouldn't change anything. This dish really grew on me the more I ate it. I wasn't sure about the first couple of bites, but by the time I was finished, I was hooked. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Really loved this recipe. I like a lot of veggies, so I added some sweet potato and sliced peppers, used a can of diced tomatoes (for the chopped tomatoes) and added some extra water. Served it with couscous and it was perfect! Next time I'll add some cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Easy to make. Felt it needed "something" as my husband thought it needed salt. I served it with steamed rice but maybe next time will try couscous for something different and to get the flavors going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I thought this dish was delicious. My husband said he would teek it next time but he tweeks every recipe. It was very easy to prepare, very tasty and I felt healthy with the carrot and tomato. I made some taboulleh to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
easy to make - lacks some flavor, but captures a nice Indian flavor without the hot spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Overall, a great recipe, very tasty. I used about 2 cups of water and added cubed potatoes to the recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
I enjoyed making and tasting this wonderful dish. My husband even like the dish and had no idea it was an indian style dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States