Indian-Style Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This dish tasted fabulous. Just the right amount of spice, and lots of flavour. Your house will smell wonderful when cooking this dish. Served with naan bread on the side to soak up the sauce - which there is plenty of. This did not turn out like the traditional butter chicken in Indian restaurants. Sauce was not thick, however the dish is delicious nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is nothing like authentic butter chicken. Several wrong ingredients are used and are prepared incorrectly. It really is so completely different that it should not be called butter chicken at all. Most annoyingly of all, the prep time stated is grossly inaccurate unless you are superwoman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
We liked this dish! With my modifications and with what I had on hand it probably didn't taste exactly the same! I had to substitute canned tomatoes. I didn't have the following, so I improvised; no garam masala so I added a black cardamon pod, a bay leaf and 1 tsp chili powder. I had a cup of yogurt, but no cream! I used chicken thighs too and cut the onion down to 1/2 onion and left out the bell peppers completely since my boys are fussy and don't like them! I would like to try it with the garam masala next time... I served over basmati rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Sorry to say but this recipe is not very nice at all. There is way too much onion in the recipe and really didnt taste like butter chicken at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
As another reviewer noted, this is not like "restaurant style" Murgh Makhni. On the other hand, authentic Indian food is seldom like American-style "Indian" restaurant food. Thick gravy is made in restaurants by the addition of cornstarch or other thickener. No Indian cook I know does so. While the recipe calls for two onions, the size of onions varies greatly - up to grapefruit size. I'd suggest using onions to taste, especially since people vary wildly in how well they like onions. I think the suggested size for the chicken is too big, I'd go for about an inch cubes and then it'll cook more quickly too. Prep time is about right. Somebody complained about the ingredients being incorrect - that again is a matter of taste. There is no one recipe for any Indian dish, although some vary less than others. India's a big place. I've seen simpler recipes and I've seen more complicated - Indian cooks are typically a LOT more inventive than most American's I know. This one is typical of the dish as served in many, though not all, Indian homes. The bell pepper is not so typical in India, but many Indian cooks use it stateside because of the ready availability here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
It was pretty good, but not what I thought it was going to be! I was looking for the butter chicken taste from my favorite Indian restaurant. This isn't it, but it IS good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. Easy to prepare and very tasty. The only substitution I made was using cayenne pepper for the crushed red pepper. I can't imagine it tasting all that different with the crushed red peppers versus the cayenne pepper. This is a definate keeper. My hubby loved it as well as children. Not too bad if I don't say so myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by mousch
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This wasn't like restaurant butter chicken, but it was still delicious - and I was missing nutmeg, ginger, cloves and lemon. I added extra garam masala to compensate and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I don't know what butter chicken is supposed to taste like, but this was a real hit. While it was cooking, it really smelled like Indian food. We live in Puerto Rico and don't have any ethnic restaurants near us, so it was like going out for dinner! I will definitely make this again. (I did have to leave out the cloves because I couldn't find them in the stores).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is not a bad place to start. I used 2 more tomatoes, less onion (half of one), 1 more garlic, and fresh fenugreek leaves. I skipped the yogurt and used fat free half and half. A pound of chicken is also a bit much. I used one good sized breast. Also, use whole caradmom/cloves/cinnamon. Where is the turmeric?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States