Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Use less Cinnamon! 2" stick was way too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zak Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I like this rice a lot but feel it needs double the spice. Also, feel like it is missing some moisture or creaminess so next time I make it I will try adding a bit of tomato paste, butter or oil at the end of the cooking time. This does go very well with the kafta kabobs, naan, minty raita, and some fresh onions as an Indian-style taco. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I'm an Indian and I've eaten a lot of varieties of rice. Usually my mum cooks, but it was my first time cooking and I decided to make this recipe. I'm sorry to say but I've eaten much better things, and it simply didn't suit my taste. I'm sorry.. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Very delicious. I gave it 4 stars only because I thought a tablespoon of cumin would be too much. I used 1 tsp. and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This rice turned out to be really delicious. I only made one small change, I used ghee in place of the oil. This turned out to be so good that even my pickiest eater loved it. I will definitely make this again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Great, great recipe thank you. My son made it as is the first time- great rice. To the second batch of rice he made he added 1 1/2 tsp each of tumeric, cumin, & powered coriander. This recipe is definitely restaurant quality. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Great aromatics, this rice was the best basmati rice I've ever made that tasted authentic. I did add about a tablespoon of Ghee (clarified butter) at the end at the recommendation of an Indian friend. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gustatorian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was delicious! I made a few changes; substituted shallots for the onion, added a couple extra cardamom pods + cloves, and used about half the amount of cumin that the recipe calls for. I also substituted half of the water with some homemade stock that I had on hand. Loved it! Next time I'm going to try adding some saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for thanksgiving and boy did it smell nice! I must say beyond the scent, this is still plain rice that needs a sauce to go with it. Make sure to find a nice sauce (maybe with lamb) to accompany this rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel Ankrah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Added saffron powder! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States