Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
I thought this recipe was very good but I should have listened to my intuition and reduced the amount of cumin seed it called for. 1 tablespoon of cumin seed is WAY TOO MUCH for the amount of rice indicated. It totally overpowered the rice and muted all the other great flavours going on in the dish. I would definitely make this again but I will use about 1 teaspoon of cumin seed next time and probably add green peas to it, as a matter or preference. I also used jasmine rice, so I did not soak it, but I washed it thoroughly until the water was clear and let in drain in a colander until the rice is relatively dry. I find this is essential in making rice dishes like this so the rice sautes better and doesnt taste bland or waterlogged. I also reduced the cooking time slightly, since I was using a different type of rice and reduced the water to 2 cups, but kept the amount of rice used the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Great recipe. out of necessity used 1/2 tsp. ground cumin, and 1/4 tsp. ground cardamom. I make basmati rice all the time but never thought about browning it first. This changes the flavor for the better! Oh this was wonderful served with "Maharaja Curry" and it was a restaurant-quality meal. I did add Saffron and frozen peas to the rice for color and substance. Thanks for this nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I just finished preparing this recipe... it was tasty, but nothing spectacular - hence my 4 star rating. I followed the directions for the most part - except I didn't bother soaking the rice - because in my experience, the rice is easier to toast if you skip the soaking step. Also, I doubled the recipe and used about 1/2 less cumin seeds, a few extra pods of cardamom and an extra clove or two. I added a pinch of saffron too! Note: If you decide to use ground spices in place of the whole ones, be careful with how much you use - otherwise you won't get the right flavor. Too much cinnamon can ruin the dish, and typically the cardamom is essential with Indian cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is very good. I was a little disappointed in the hieroglyphics I had to go through to figure out the "ground equivalents" of the spices. So, thanks to the internet, here they are: 1 tsp cinnamon 1/8 tsp cardamom 1/2 tsp cloves 1 tsp cumin I thought it could use a little more salt, too, maybe 1 1/2 tsp. Othewise, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This tasted very good, however I had to make some changes to it because I had to use white rice and substitute ground spices. For the cinamon I used one teaspoon ground, and cardamon also suffered because I couldn't find pods. So I used 2/3 of a teaspoon and the rice was great. Extremely easy to make and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
this was just what we needed for our indian food fix! i spent some extra time sauteing the rice after it was soaked to toast it to a light golden color, it really brought out the rich flavor of the basmati. i doubled the onions (personal preference) and threw in 1/2 cup frozen (but thawed) mixed vegetables for color and added texture. served this with the indian tandoori chicken on this website. it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This was very good. I skipped the cardamom completely, used ground cinnamon instead of sticks, and used ground cumin instead of cumin seeds (but reduced the amount to 2 tsp). I seemed to need a bit of extra oil when browning the rice so that it didn't stick. The rice turned out to be tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Delicious! I used brown basmati so I had to cook it longer but it went sooooo well with the Dahl recipe and the Naan bread recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Excellent taste and easy to prepare. I've used this recipe several times. One time I forgot to soak the rice ahead of time. To save time, I rinsed the rice then microwaved it for about two minutes (removed as much water as possible). It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I don't have all the whole spices, so I subbed 1/4t ground cardamom, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/8t ground cloves and 1t cumin. I also prep it all in the skillet then dump into my rice cooker - I hate watching rice on the stove!! Works great, even with brown basmati. ALSO - try subbing some of the liquid for a can of coconut milk!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States