Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
even my timid children loved this rice recipe. that really surprised me. delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Good, but not wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I made this with red lentil curry. Very yummy! I used brown rice and the flavor was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryn Haubner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: House Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Loved it!! I only used one teaspoon of cumin seed and it tasted perfect. This paired very well with the Easy Indian Butter Chicken recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I eat a lot of indian food and this is an easy fast and great way to make this rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I am somewhat surprised about the warning not to eat the whole spices - well the green cardamom pods anyway. When cooked with the basmati rice they become softer and swell up. The whole pod becomes chewy. It's an acquired taste perhaps but not unpleasant and they are known for medicinal qualities as well as other health benefits such as an aid in digestion. I actually look for them in the rice. However I do draw the line at whole cloves and cinnamon sticks. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I have made this recipe a few times already! My whole family enjoys this with the cinnamon in it. It's so nice to have this recipe to use now, because I was so tired of plain white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Delicious. It tastes so authentic and is so easy to make. I was out of clove so I used all spice seeds and it worked well. I will definitely be making this a lot! I agree with another reviewer, cook the onions on low for ten minutes to get the rich color and taste. Then add the rice for one minute or so and then add the broth. I used chicken broth and did add a cup of frozen peas in a minute before ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Tastes just like my local Indian restaurant! I never substitute ground spices for the whole ones. After making this a few times I switched to using Jasmine rice, skip the soaking, and change the amounts to 2 cups jasmine rice and 2 cups liquid (I substitute chicken broth if I have it on hand). Wonderful flavor! At the end I throw in a handful of frozen peas. It only takes a minute to steam them then stir them in. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
We enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States