Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I love this recipe! Comes out fantastic every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Others have knocked this for being under flavored. I disagree. It is not supposed to have TONS of flavor. It is an accompaniment to another dish. The flavors were subtle but delicious. I prepared this rice with the Tomato Curry Chicken recipe which is also found on allrecipes! They were great together, I recommend trying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Perfect Basmati rice! It tastes just like the Indian restaurants, if not better. I made it exactly like the recipe and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I've seen so many different versions, with the water:rice ratio all being slightly different. Anyways...it's a decent recipe. I had made basmati rice from a different recipe and it was a lot more flavourful, but I can't figure out what was missing. I think it also had some peas in it. But I'll be using this recipe until I come across that exact method again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This rice is even better than the rice in an Indian restaurant! So easy and YUMMY! Instead of cardamom pods (because I can't find any where I live) I use a dash of Allspice and that seems to do the trick. Other than that I follow it to a "T"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This rice smelled AMAZING while it was cooking (it also tasted great with a tikka masala dish). Like other people, I didn't have cardamom pods, so i used it ground and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Followed exactly and it turned out yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Made this tonight, was excellent- a kind of subtle flavour, comes across just like you might expect in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Yummy and so flavorful. I add extra cardamon probably double the amount recipe calls for and use chicken broth for the liquid. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I was disappointed with this recipe. I am sure I did something wrong and maybe someone could help me because I love Basmati rice. Let me just say that it smelled amazing but when the rice was all cooked it still just tasted like plain rice. Someone help because I want to make good basmati rice. Peace
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States