Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
On the suggestion of another reviewer, I halved the cumin seeds and out of necessity had to use ground cloves. It turned out perfectly and I served the rice with the chicken tikka masala and naan recipes from this site. Very easy and very tasty- I'll definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I give the highest rating to this recipe because my rice came out amazing! However, I made some minor adjustments as follows: used 2 cups of BROWN basmati rice, which is more nutritious than white rice. Also, I soaked it overnight for 10 hours and added 3 cardamon pods & 3 whole cloves instead of 2 as indicated on this recipe. In place of vegetable oil, I used coconut oil and cooked everything for 50 minutes (since brown rice takes longer to prepare).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedminster, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I think ground cumin would have been much better for this recipe. I would also add 2 extra cardamoms. I will make this recipe again- but with my own twist- the recipe as is is lacking a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
A five-star "omigosh-is-this-ever-good." I substituted ginger and a touch of nutmeg (as suggested by them 'as knows) for cardomom, which I didn't have. And because my cinnamon sticks are about eight years old, I used about 1/3 tsp. ground cinnamon instead. The rice is exotic and mouth-watering even when it's cold - and with broiled salmon steaks it was simply wonderful. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Basmati Bliss! Fluffy rice; subtle, balanced flavor from each of the spices for an excellent side dish for any cuisine. Used tad less boiling water, due to the soaking; cooked for 20 minutes. I will be using this recipe to create all kinds of flavors. Thanks DHANO923! Difinitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I loved it, but the husband didn't. Boo...so I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This has become a staple in my house. I make half the amount, as we are only two, but use the same proportions. We love it with grilled or oven baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I make indian food a lot and try to get what I make as close to restaurants that I've been to. I don't ever remember seeing their basic rice with cumin in it. It usually has ajwain seed (carrom) about 1/4 tsp. This gives it almost a slight menthol mouth watering affect. It looks like cumin but smaller. I'd also suggest 4-5 cardamom pods, 2 black cardamom pods (gives a subtle smokey flavor), and 6 cloves. Make sure to wash and scrub the rice beforehand with several changes of water until the water is clear to get all the starchy powders removed. Then soak in COLD water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was delicious. I did my best to follow the directions as is, though I had black cardamom pods- not green ones. I used that and I substituted olive oil for regular vegetable oil. I noticed that when sauteeing the onion to prevent it from burning you can add spoonfuls of water to the pot. It evaporates easily enough so as not to affect the recipe. I picked the spices out just before serving. As directed the rice was not firm, but it wasn't mush either. Letting it sit helped it dry out enough for the rice to keep its shape without giving the rice an unpleasant texture. As for flavor, I guess it depends on expectations. The flavors are a bit subtle, though that is part of what makes this dish great. It's not bland and can compliment several different flavor pairings in other dishes. (The meal that I served it in involved lemon-pepper, butter, garlic, ginger, sriracha, soy sauce/ salt, hoisin, and almonds.) BTW, even considering the serving size as at least a half cup, there is no way that the calories per serving is 51. (using an external recipe calculator the calories per serving came out to 101, not 51.)Rice and other grains tend to be high in calories, so I have a hard time believing the posted nutrition information is reliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
It's a good recipe but very subtle flavor. It's a good compliment to a stronger or more bold Indian dish. As far as the cardamon pods, I always have a hard time finding them so instead I used 1/6 teaspoon cardamon powder for each pod required. It seems to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSEDO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States