Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I used brown basmati rice and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fatima E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Great Recipe!! I did add more cardamom pods(6). I also did not soak it bec I dont have a strainer with small enough holes. Had this with Navratan Korma, Naan and carrot curry soup. The rice was nice and fluffy, cooked perfect! Added some scallions and cilantro on top. Will Make again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Nothing else to say but fantastic. It even impressed the Indians at work. Also, people comment on the excessive cumin but keep in mind it says cumin seed, not ground cumin. Use a tsp of ground cumin if that is what you have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
On the suggestion of another reviewer, I halved the cumin seeds and out of necessity had to use ground cloves. It turned out perfectly and I served the rice with the chicken tikka masala and naan recipes from this site. Very easy and very tasty- I'll definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I give the highest rating to this recipe because my rice came out amazing! However, I made some minor adjustments as follows: used 2 cups of BROWN basmati rice, which is more nutritious than white rice. Also, I soaked it overnight for 10 hours and added 3 cardamon pods & 3 whole cloves instead of 2 as indicated on this recipe. In place of vegetable oil, I used coconut oil and cooked everything for 50 minutes (since brown rice takes longer to prepare).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedminster, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I think ground cumin would have been much better for this recipe. I would also add 2 extra cardamoms. I will make this recipe again- but with my own twist- the recipe as is is lacking a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
A five-star "omigosh-is-this-ever-good." I substituted ginger and a touch of nutmeg (as suggested by them 'as knows) for cardomom, which I didn't have. And because my cinnamon sticks are about eight years old, I used about 1/3 tsp. ground cinnamon instead. The rice is exotic and mouth-watering even when it's cold - and with broiled salmon steaks it was simply wonderful. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Basmati Bliss! Fluffy rice; subtle, balanced flavor from each of the spices for an excellent side dish for any cuisine. Used tad less boiling water, due to the soaking; cooked for 20 minutes. I will be using this recipe to create all kinds of flavors. Thanks DHANO923! Difinitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I loved it, but the husband didn't. Boo...so I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This has become a staple in my house. I make half the amount, as we are only two, but use the same proportions. We love it with grilled or oven baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States