Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I thought it was quite good. I don't know that I will wash/soak rice next time. I kinda like it sticky. I thought the cinnamon was a little heavy but my dining companion thought both the cinammon and the cardemon were to subtle. Either way, I liked it, I will make it again. I served it on the side with the Ratatouile from this site. Great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
The flavour was great but the rice was seriously overcooked, it was way too much water and it turned out mushy. I rinsed the rice several times and soaked it but I think it was too much water after soaking for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aleksandra Cirtoska
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Thanks for this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleksandra Cirtoska

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skopje, Skopje, Macedonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
excellent - added red curry powder, garam masala, golden raisins, almonds, carrots,garbonzo beans and red pepper. family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is really delicious! I have used brown basmati rice and it came out great. With brown rice I had to simmer it for 20 more minutes. I also added a handful of frozen peas, and chopped parsley. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is very good. I was a little disappointed in the hieroglyphics I had to go through to figure out the "ground equivalents" of the spices. So, thanks to the internet, here they are: 1 tsp cinnamon 1/8 tsp cardamom 1/2 tsp cloves 1 tsp cumin I thought it could use a little more salt, too, maybe 1 1/2 tsp. Othewise, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I used brown basmati rice and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fatima E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Great Recipe!! I did add more cardamom pods(6). I also did not soak it bec I dont have a strainer with small enough holes. Had this with Navratan Korma, Naan and carrot curry soup. The rice was nice and fluffy, cooked perfect! Added some scallions and cilantro on top. Will Make again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States