Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I skipped cardamon and cumin completely, and felt out also very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leila Saric-Malicevic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Phillip really liked it, but I didn't think it was anything spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I make this as the standard side to a chicken curry I make. It's really good and even my 4 yo son likes it. It could use "something" to give it a bit of pizzazz on its own, I just don't know what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Made per recipe but with 1/2 tsp cumin on first run and the flavor was pretty subdued. Will likely try with a bit more herbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This was not a good recipe, very blah...I followed it to a T and it just didn't taste like I thought it would have. I usually like indian style cuisine but I think I am going to stick with north American rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitchen Kitty
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Love this rice - I added saffron threads. Served to guests at a dinner party and everyone loved it, including my picky 4 year old. NEW UPDATE - Just made this in my Instant Pot Electric Pressure Cooker and it was great. I sautéed the onions in ghee while the rice soaked, then added ground spices. After I drained the rice I sautéed it along with the spices until lightly toasted and mixed with spices. I added a tsp saffron and then turned pressure cooker on for 3 minutes. After that I let the steam naturally release for 10 minutes before opening the vent. Fluffed with a fork and served. Perfectly cooked and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Really nice! Added fennel seeds and yellow mustard seeds, and after frying onion and spices cooked it in my rice cooker - this is a really tasty accompaniment for Murgh Kari (allrecipes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Use 1 tsp. caraway seeds instead of the cumin; this recipe calls for way too much cumin. I'd also increase the cloves and cardamon to 4 each, and use broth instead of water for a richer flavor. Chicken or vegetable works best. Make sure the rice is rinsed several times before you soak it, then cooking time can be reduced to 10-11 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
a lot of work but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
alright, it lacked a lot of flavour, but that could also be b/c I made another dish which probably overpowered it... but it turned out okay! my hubbie didn't mind it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States