Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
a lot of work but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
alright, it lacked a lot of flavour, but that could also be b/c I made another dish which probably overpowered it... but it turned out okay! my hubbie didn't mind it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
My husband is from New Delhi and when his mom visits she makes similar rice. However, she prepares the "masala" (onion spice mixture sauteed in the oil) and then dumps that into a rice cooker with the rice and water already in it. Press start and you are done - it all cooks up just fine and is delicious. Peas are a great addition, and carrots diced small. A little more salt may be needed depending on the amount of rice. I just rinse the rice in a colander until the water is clear-ish before putting in the rice maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwardsville IL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is far too much water- typically the proportion is 1 1/3 to 1 for dry rice, 1 to 1 for soaked, though these can be adjusted somewhat. The cumin is also way out of proportion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is a very good rice dish! I made it side dish, to go along with Indian Tomato Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
No one in the family liked this, sorry, just not our taste I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdbooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Dang! I didn't have the cumin seed but didn't want to use 1T ground either. The spice flavors were very mild so maybe my cinnamon and cardamom need to be replaced. Will make it again but I'll make sure I have all the ingredients as well as fresh spices in my cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I don't have all the whole spices, so I subbed 1/4t ground cardamom, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/8t ground cloves and 1t cumin. I also prep it all in the skillet then dump into my rice cooker - I hate watching rice on the stove!! Works great, even with brown basmati. ALSO - try subbing some of the liquid for a can of coconut milk!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
i substituted the clove and cardamom with one bay leaf and Turmeric. I didn't have cumin seed so i used cumin powder. I also added two small cloves of Garlic (with a pestle/mortar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edilbim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
AWESOME...taste restaurant-made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qweenray2000

Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States