Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Interesting concoction. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I skipped cardamon and cumin completely, and felt out also very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Phillip really liked it, but I didn't think it was anything spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I make this as the standard side to a chicken curry I make. It's really good and even my 4 yo son likes it. It could use "something" to give it a bit of pizzazz on its own, I just don't know what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Made per recipe but with 1/2 tsp cumin on first run and the flavor was pretty subdued. Will likely try with a bit more herbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This was not a good recipe, very blah...I followed it to a T and it just didn't taste like I thought it would have. I usually like indian style cuisine but I think I am going to stick with north American rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Love this rice - I added saffron threads. Served to guests at a dinner party and everyone loved it, including my picky 4 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Really nice! Added fennel seeds and yellow mustard seeds, and after frying onion and spices cooked it in my rice cooker - this is a really tasty accompaniment for Murgh Kari (allrecipes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Use 1 tsp. caraway seeds instead of the cumin; this recipe calls for way too much cumin. I'd also increase the cloves and cardamon to 4 each, and use broth instead of water for a richer flavor. Chicken or vegetable works best. Make sure the rice is rinsed several times before you soak it, then cooking time can be reduced to 10-11 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
a lot of work but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States