Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by CoquetteCutie
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I omitted the cloves and the rice was still very nicely spiced and perfectly cooked. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Delicious. I used garam masala instead of the spices listed (still included the cinnamon) This is a very easy, tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
A quick and easy addition to an Indian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I love this rice! I am awful at cooking rice and it usually ends up gummy and sticky, but this recipe produced rice like I'd buy in an Indian restaurant. I added peas and skipped the cardamon pods, and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This was very good. I skipped the cardamom completely, used ground cinnamon instead of sticks, and used ground cumin instead of cumin seeds (but reduced the amount to 2 tsp). I seemed to need a bit of extra oil when browning the rice so that it didn't stick. The rice turned out to be tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This recipe is very close to what I've had in restaurants. I didn't use the onions, and next time, I would cut the cumin seed amount by half. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
The smell of this rice is great and just tastes really authentic like the indian restaurant I go to. I didn't have basmati rice so I used white, but I'm sure you could use brown or another type of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEECGM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Since I am usually heavy-handed with my spices, I always double the amount of spices called for in recipes. I did the same for this one, and it was fantastic. People commented that it was very "authentic" and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Tasty, simple, and fluffy. I used 1/4 of an average size onion. I think I'll add some frozen peas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I this rice was delicate, tender and very fragrant. I still can't believe how good it turned out. I followed the recipe to a T. However, I tranfered the browned rice mixture to my rice cooker for the final simmer period. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States