Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This is just amazingly good. I added a few more cloves, but that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Excellent Basmati rice! Great Flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This recipe worked very well in a rice cooker. I followed the rice/water ratio supplied with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This rice was fantastic. We started it up then went on to cook an Indian dish while it was going. The timing was great and the rice was an awesome compliment to the chicken dish we made. Just like a restaurant, and the rice smell filling up the kitchen was great! One thing we added was a handful of yellow raisins from the Indian store. They added just the right amount of additional surprising bites of sweetness. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Excellent results! I did not have whole spices so I used powdered. I used 1 tsp each of the Cardamon, cloves and Cinnamon. I also did not soak my rice - I just added it to the oil with the onion and sauted it until it was golden. Excellent served with Naan and Chicken Tikka!! Thanks for the delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was exactly what I was looking for, thank you! I made this for a dinner party and followed the recipe earlier in the day up until the adding water part. It kept beautifully and was a easy finish once the guests arrived. I also used about 1/2 ground cinnamon instead of the stick and added an extra bit of ground cumin as I wasn't sure how fresh my cumin seeds were. Fabulous. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I have tried many recipes from this website, and they always need a little amendment here and there. But this one does not need any changes at all!! Make it as it is, people. A wonderfully flavorful dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I toasted the spices before I tossed them in my mortar and pestle. Then I sauteed the onion in a little butter (no ghee), and toasted the rice with the butter and onion mixture. This has the effect of making the rice more flavorful, as well as allowing it to absorb liquid faster. Otherwise, I stuck to the recipe. This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
excellent flavors! I used 1/2 tsp ground cassia cinnamon in place of sticks and 1/2 tsp ground cumin in stead of cumin seed. Turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a good recipe. However, you can make a few changes to imrove it. If you wish to serve the rice looking white instead of brown, don't allow the onions to colour - cook them till they are just about to turn golden. Also, if you use ghee instead of oil, the aroma will be absolutely heavenly! Add a few bay leaves too. You can turn this into a vegetable pulao by adding diced carrots, beans, peas, cauliflower and potato; and increasing the water content slightly. A great way to make children eat their veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niloufer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States