Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
it took about 20 minutes for me to cook. a bit oily for my taste, and i even reduced the oil a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was a very good side dish to the Chicken Makhani on this site. I will say that one of my family members said it had a bit too much cinnamon. I used long grain rice instead of basmati rice because that is what I had on hand. I rinsed out the rice 3x with warm water and then let it soak while cutting the onion and veggies for my main dish. I also transfered the rice to my rice cooker for the final simmering stage as noted by another user. I used two cups of rice and 3 1/2 cups of water so it wouldn't turn out sticky. It came out very good in the end. This recipe is for refined palates, not so good with little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I didn't use the cardamom and replaced jasmine rice for the basmati, so that may have affected the flavor a bit, but it was almost as good as authentic basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athomas21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is a good recipe. Smells wonderful when cooking. I added green peas to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This rice dish was fabulous with the Indian Tandoori Chicken recipe. Was even great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaPulk
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
this was a very fragrant and flavorful rice. i didnt use the whole cloves or cinnamon stick, just substituted ground. but i did use the cardamom pods. dont use too much if you decide to use ground spices. it came out great and went perfectly with the navrattan korma from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great rice - added 2 bay leaves as well - also used ground spices rather than whole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This fragrant, delicious recipe was a hit served with the tandoori chicken thigh recipe from this site. I didn't have cardamom, had to use some ground spices instead of whole, and added curry leaf and golden raisins. We added this recipe to our family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Great rice! I didn't have the whole spices so I used ground cinnamon, ground cardamom and ground cloves. The rice turned out dark but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Went well with our chickpea curry! Had jasmine rice on hand, so I followed the suggestions from another user.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States