Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
excellent flavors! I used 1/2 tsp ground cassia cinnamon in place of sticks and 1/2 tsp ground cumin in stead of cumin seed. Turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a good recipe. However, you can make a few changes to imrove it. If you wish to serve the rice looking white instead of brown, don't allow the onions to colour - cook them till they are just about to turn golden. Also, if you use ghee instead of oil, the aroma will be absolutely heavenly! Add a few bay leaves too. You can turn this into a vegetable pulao by adding diced carrots, beans, peas, cauliflower and potato; and increasing the water content slightly. A great way to make children eat their veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niloufer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Loved it. The kids all asked if we could have this again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
it took about 20 minutes for me to cook. a bit oily for my taste, and i even reduced the oil a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was a very good side dish to the Chicken Makhani on this site. I will say that one of my family members said it had a bit too much cinnamon. I used long grain rice instead of basmati rice because that is what I had on hand. I rinsed out the rice 3x with warm water and then let it soak while cutting the onion and veggies for my main dish. I also transfered the rice to my rice cooker for the final simmering stage as noted by another user. I used two cups of rice and 3 1/2 cups of water so it wouldn't turn out sticky. It came out very good in the end. This recipe is for refined palates, not so good with little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I didn't use the cardamom and replaced jasmine rice for the basmati, so that may have affected the flavor a bit, but it was almost as good as authentic basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athomas21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is a good recipe. Smells wonderful when cooking. I added green peas to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This rice dish was fabulous with the Indian Tandoori Chicken recipe. Was even great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaPulk
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
this was a very fragrant and flavorful rice. i didnt use the whole cloves or cinnamon stick, just substituted ground. but i did use the cardamom pods. dont use too much if you decide to use ground spices. it came out great and went perfectly with the navrattan korma from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great rice - added 2 bay leaves as well - also used ground spices rather than whole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States