Indian Style Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Great aromatics, this rice was the best basmati rice I've ever made that tasted authentic. I did add about a tablespoon of Ghee (clarified butter) at the end at the recommendation of an Indian friend. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gustatorian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was delicious! I made a few changes; substituted shallots for the onion, added a couple extra cardamom pods + cloves, and used about half the amount of cumin that the recipe calls for. I also substituted half of the water with some homemade stock that I had on hand. Loved it! Next time I'm going to try adding some saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for thanksgiving and boy did it smell nice! I must say beyond the scent, this is still plain rice that needs a sauce to go with it. Make sure to find a nice sauce (maybe with lamb) to accompany this rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samuel Ankrah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Added saffron powder! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is an amazing rice dish! I make it all the time for my family with an Indian meal. The best rice I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefbenjamin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coldwater, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I love this and very easy. Have to soak rice !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Amazing and easy luv it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Made this rice tonight, and it was a big hit. Served it with the Slow Cooker Butter Chicken recipe from this site. Made it as written. Subtle flavor worked well with our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Simple to make rice for a complimentary side to any main course. I served this with some daal and chicken makhani. I added some extra water at the last five minutes about a forth cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I agree with the most helpful positive review (Me) that the cumin seed amount should be reduced to 1 teaspoon. With this change, the result is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States