Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Very easy to make, had most ingredients on hand. Omitted jalapeno, cilantro and tomato paste cause I didn't wanna make a run to the store. Added additional red pepper flakes cause DH likes it spicy. He's just starting his 2nd bowl. I saved some of the additional sauce I made for chicken tomorrow as I'm not a fan of shrimp. Super tasty. Super easy, what's not to like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe! The preparation was very easy, and I thought there was a substantial amount of flavor. I didn't need the extra 1/4lb of shrimp, so I would recommend only using 1lb so that you have enough curry. I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne powder to my dish to give it a little extra heat. Such a delicious and flavorful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aooot
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Omitted the sugar, it doesn't need it. Used yellow mustard seeds instead of black. I also used shrimp instead of chicken. Overall this dish is excellent a the perfect amount of spice somewhere between mild and medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Amazing dish, very spicy, used half the amount of jalapeno and still mouth was on fire....lol....LOVED IT. Oh yeah and I used extra large shrimp instead of medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've made this recipe many times and there are never any leftovers. I follow the recipe exactly with the exception that I don't use the tablespoon of tomato paste since I don't like to waste the entire can just for a tablespoon of paste. I think it's only for the color anyway. I also use the whole can of coconut milk since it's already opened and it doesn't seem to affect the taste of the sauce and it just makes more sauce which is positive since most people enjoy the sauce better then the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Izshtar6
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I loved this recipe, it was something different. It had some heat to it but wasn't spicy like cayenne pepper is. I couldn't find any garam masala so I just used the recipe on this site and it tasted just fine although I have no clue what garam masala taste like. I made it as is but next time I'm going to try adding scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Delicious recipe- the only change I made was to add some fresh chopped homegrown garden tomatoes since I had some on hand- a very positive addition indeed! I also freshly ground my cumin seed resulting in a more pungent cumin taste-- yum.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Delicious. I doubled the Garam Masala and red pepper. Substituted the oil for Ghee. Served with Allrecipes, Indian style Basmati Rice and Sarson Ka Saag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I didn't have the black mustard seeds so I used a little less than 1 tsp. of dijon mustard in the oil. I also didn't have enough cilantro but used what I had and it was very good. I used another reviewer's idea and used red pepper flakes instead of ground red pepper. This recipe's a keeper; very good taste and not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eveeken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
i liked it i tweaked it a bit and still went well.. i used parsley instead with the sauce and regular mustard instead of the seed as that's what i had and still turned out quite fine, i will serve this over hot rice short sunrise will do with this one better id say but you be creative with this number :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States