Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Amazing dish, very spicy, used half the amount of jalapeno and still mouth was on fire....lol....LOVED IT. Oh yeah and I used extra large shrimp instead of medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've made this recipe many times and there are never any leftovers. I follow the recipe exactly with the exception that I don't use the tablespoon of tomato paste since I don't like to waste the entire can just for a tablespoon of paste. I think it's only for the color anyway. I also use the whole can of coconut milk since it's already opened and it doesn't seem to affect the taste of the sauce and it just makes more sauce which is positive since most people enjoy the sauce better then the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Izshtar6
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I loved this recipe, it was something different. It had some heat to it but wasn't spicy like cayenne pepper is. I couldn't find any garam masala so I just used the recipe on this site and it tasted just fine although I have no clue what garam masala taste like. I made it as is but next time I'm going to try adding scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Delicious recipe- the only change I made was to add some fresh chopped homegrown garden tomatoes since I had some on hand- a very positive addition indeed! I also freshly ground my cumin seed resulting in a more pungent cumin taste-- yum.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Delicious. I doubled the Garam Masala and red pepper. Substituted the oil for Ghee. Served with Allrecipes, Indian style Basmati Rice and Sarson Ka Saag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I didn't have the black mustard seeds so I used a little less than 1 tsp. of dijon mustard in the oil. I also didn't have enough cilantro but used what I had and it was very good. I used another reviewer's idea and used red pepper flakes instead of ground red pepper. This recipe's a keeper; very good taste and not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eveeken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
i liked it i tweaked it a bit and still went well.. i used parsley instead with the sauce and regular mustard instead of the seed as that's what i had and still turned out quite fine, i will serve this over hot rice short sunrise will do with this one better id say but you be creative with this number :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Great recipe, I added about 1 cup of frozen peas and 1 large red bell pepper to the sauce just because it seems to lack nutrition without the vegetables. It turned out better than ever by adding those veggies. I also cooked the sauce first than added the shrimp in for a few minutes on each side after the sauce was close to a thickness I desired. This prevented the shrimp from overcooking. My man loved this dish over brown rice and can't wait to have it again! Great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made this a couple nights ago for an Indian themed dinner party that I hosted...it was a hit! I doubled the amount of sauce. I didn't have mustard seed so I omitted it. I followed the advice of other reviewers and add scallops with the shrimp. I added a small onion, chooped with the garlic and I added 1 tbsp of red curry paste.The flavour and spices were perfect. For those who are not fans of spicy dishes I would follow the recipe as it's written and add more spices to taste along the way. Served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
So good! Double the sauce - that's the best part! I also added additional lemon juice to balance the flavors better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States