Indian-Spiced Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
They were tasty, but not spectacular. However, leftovers crisped up very nicely in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Since several other reviewers stated that these took longer than 30 minutes to crisp up, I was surprised when I checked them after 25 minutes and some of them had incinerated on my baking sheet. And I checked and I had roasted them at the correct temperature. I removed the ones that were still edible, but I have to say the garam masala flavor was overwhelming. DH ate one and said "They're all yours". I ate a few, but no more. They did smell good while cooking, but I don't think I'll make them again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Excellent! A few tips: first.. the quality of your chickpeas will cause these to be mealy, or not. Field Day organics sells amazing chickpeas in a can, and they are creamy, not mealy, so they roast the best (make best hummus too). Next choice is Westfield organics. While I use Trader Joe's organic chickpeas in other recipes, this recipe will taste mealy if you use Joe's for this. Next, the lemon.. if you use a meyer lemon for juice, its great. I also added zest from the meyer and that's even better, has a lemon flavor but not too tart. As for the oven, if you make these in a conventional / older oven, they will likely not crisp well at 25-30 minutes if at all with more roasting. However, in a convection oven, the coating was perfectly adhered to all the chickpeas, the Fieldday and Westfield organic peas all came out non-mealy, and they crisped up in 25 minutes. Suggest making this in a good quality toaster oven with convection roasting if you can and otherwise have a regular oven. Saves energy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This recipe is sorprisingly good , it is very crunchy on the outside and soft in the inside. The flavour is great, it is very well balanced.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent! This is our new favorite snack! I had to cook them for an extra 5 minutes to get them crunchy, but they do get crunchier as they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
At first, I didn't like these, but the flavor grew on me. By the time they were gone, I was practically licking the bag I kept them in to get all the last little spices out. I followed the recipe exactly, and had to bake for almost double the amount of time...and I still wouldn't really call them crispy. But they were definitely tasty, and a flavorful snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I did not like the lemon juice in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Very good! Definitely needs almost twice the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I liked these chickpeas, but my boyfriend (who usually likes chickpeas) was not impressed. I recommend eating them right away, because the leftovers weren't nearly as tasty. I liked the spices in the recipe, but I don't think I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
these were so so good. I didn't even have any lemon juice or coriander and they were still so so good. I think they needed a lot of extra time to get them crunchy, but crunchy they were! be sure to leave them in long enough. will make these again, the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States