Indian Spiced Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was a very nice dish. Had basmati and used that instead of Jasmine. Since this was not the main meal, I kept the spices exactly as written. I would however, double the spices if this was going to be the main course. I did add a small piece of cinnamon stick, and ground 3 cloves to add. I also added 1/2 tsp. tumeric for color. Very nice balance of spice. I didn't think the pepper would go w/the taste, so shredded 1 med. carrot instead and gave a beautiful color. Also tossed in a few pistachios during the second 10 min. simmer along w/the raisins and carrot. Potato was perfectly done and added it at the beginning of the simmer. This makes a nice dish and does make alot to feed 4 people by the time one gets the vegetables in there. Will make again. Served this w/"Indian style sheeshk kabab" and "Red Lentil Curry" here on Allrecipes and was a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
This was okay, but suffered from some textural problems. With the various additions at different times that necessitated stirring, I thought that the potato got kind of mushy. Next time, I might cook the lentils and potato together separately, with their own spices, and stir it all together briefly at the end. The red pepper seemed an odd choice, flavour wise; I would use a hot pepper, next time. The spicing was nice but milder than I prefer, so I added a liberal amount of garam masala after it was done, which helped enormously. The leftovers re-heated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
This is a really flavorful rice recipe. It's great on it's own, but you might go into flavor overload if you serve it with curry or another spicy Indian dish. Green lentils require more cooking time, try the red ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I've made this several times, and it's delicious, but with some modifications. I use a lot more vegetables than the original recipe calls for - about double the veggies for the same amount of rice. I use whatever veggies I have - always onion, potato, and peas, but I've also put in bell peppers, carrots, celery (stalks and greens), and even broccoli. I also increase the spices. At the end I like to add some cashews. The hard part is getting everything to finish cooking together - it can be a delicate balance getting the potatoes and rice to fully cook without overdoing some of the veggies. I keep making it, though - it's a great recipe to introduce lentils without being so unusual that it scares off pickier eaters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Nutritious, tasty and visually appealing. It doesn't get any better than this. Because I like my Indian food with a bit of kick, I tripled the spices to really give it some flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Delicious! It looks really pretty too; all the colors make the dish special. It's tasty and healthy. I serve it with the Indian Tomato Chicken posted by Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
My family and I liked this recipe. I pre-cooked the garlic, onions, potatoes with the spices in a pan. Then added the mixture to the rice, lentils, peas and red pepper inside a rice cooker. This rice dish is a meal in itself. I made a soup, too and I'm glad I just had the two because it was so filling. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made the recipe just as written... well except i did brown rice instead of jasmine, In the end though I found this to be rather bland. I agree with some of the other reviews in that I would add some heat and more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I really liked this recipe. The dish turned out hearty, but not heavy, spicy, but now overpowering. I used chicken broth instead of just water to give it an even fuller flavour. I think that the next time I make it, I will definitely rince the rice first, to avoid a bit of "gloppiness" due to the starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I didn't have any ginger or cinnamon so I don't know whether that made a difference. It was OK, don't know whether I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunderland, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.
Living In: Brentwood, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States