Indian Spiced Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
All of the positive reviews for this recipe involved people changing the recipe, and doubling or even tripling the spices. I made the recipe as written, and wow, is this bland. Will not attempt to fix this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I've made this several times, and it's delicious, but with some modifications. I use a lot more vegetables than the original recipe calls for - about double the veggies for the same amount of rice. I use whatever veggies I have - always onion, potato, and peas, but I've also put in bell peppers, carrots, celery (stalks and greens), and even broccoli. I also increase the spices. At the end I like to add some cashews. The hard part is getting everything to finish cooking together - it can be a delicate balance getting the potatoes and rice to fully cook without overdoing some of the veggies. I keep making it, though - it's a great recipe to introduce lentils without being so unusual that it scares off pickier eaters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Nutritious, tasty and visually appealing. It doesn't get any better than this. Because I like my Indian food with a bit of kick, I tripled the spices to really give it some flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I didn't have any ginger or cinnamon so I don't know whether that made a difference. It was OK, don't know whether I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunderland, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.
Living In: Brentwood, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
What I liked best about this recipe was the sweet touch of the raisins (add a bit more) and the crunch of the lentils. I omitted the potatoes. The flavor is definitely Indian but not overpowering and went well with another recipe on this site (Indian pork chops). I thought the dish needed to be salted a bit more but I like things on the salty side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNBUZZPLUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Delicious! It looks really pretty too; all the colors make the dish special. It's tasty and healthy. I serve it with the Indian Tomato Chicken posted by Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made the recipe just as written... well except i did brown rice instead of jasmine, In the end though I found this to be rather bland. I agree with some of the other reviews in that I would add some heat and more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Very filling and surprisingly easy to make if you have everything chopped up before hand. I liked the sweetness of the raisens and added a lot more than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was a very nice dish. Had basmati and used that instead of Jasmine. Since this was not the main meal, I kept the spices exactly as written. I would however, double the spices if this was going to be the main course. I did add a small piece of cinnamon stick, and ground 3 cloves to add. I also added 1/2 tsp. tumeric for color. Very nice balance of spice. I didn't think the pepper would go w/the taste, so shredded 1 med. carrot instead and gave a beautiful color. Also tossed in a few pistachios during the second 10 min. simmer along w/the raisins and carrot. Potato was perfectly done and added it at the beginning of the simmer. This makes a nice dish and does make alot to feed 4 people by the time one gets the vegetables in there. Will make again. Served this w/"Indian style sheeshk kabab" and "Red Lentil Curry" here on Allrecipes and was a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I replaced the lentils with quinoa and the peas with celery, and added 3 minced small green chilies. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States