Indian Shrimp Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I have made this recipe 2X now and it is the greatest flavor ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Great recipe that was very easy to make and loved by the entire family. I just added some naan bread to soak up the sauce and the dishes practically cleaned themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Added red chili flakes and doubled all the spice. I make it often! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Duffin Larson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
My husband and I loved this recipe! I followed the recipe very closely, making sure to measure out all the spices. The only difference was that I used 1-1.5 Tbsp fresh ginger minced, rather than 1 tsp powdered ginger (which follows the usual conversion ratio for fresh to dried in recipes). As for the coconut milk, I got the extra-creamy kind from Trader Joe's and used only 1/2 the can, since other reviewers thought it was too watery. Also threw in about 1.5 cups frozen peas for color, as I didn't have any cilantro on hand. Can't wait to try this recipe with fried tofu instead of shrimp! (Shrimp's kind of pricy for our budget...) Those who like their Indian food spicy should add a hefty dose of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Came out great with a few alterations. As others suggested I added a teaspoon of curry powder, and also a 1/4 teaspoon of garam masala, a bit of chopped fresh chili, and cut the turmeric to 1 tsp. I used 3 tbsp. of fresh grated ginger instead of the tsp. of powder, and substituted chopped scallions for the cilantro--I hate the stuff. I scooped the most solid top 3/4 of the (carefully unshaken) can of coconut milk into the pan (reserving the rest) and cooked the dry spices in it over medium heat in a wok, scraping often, until the coconut oils separated out of the solids, about 5 min. I thus didn't need the peanut oil. I then fried the ginger, garlic and chili in this for a few minutes, stirring and scraping often. I filled the can with the remaining coconut milk with water and added this and the onion and tomatoes, following the rest of the recipe as above. Practically a new recipe but couldn't have done it without this :) Oh yeah I cooked down 4 chopped tomatoes for ten minutes or so and used that instead of a can. Who needs cans :) Now if I could only get some coconuts :) EDIT: Made a wicked vegetarian version of this substituting some fresh baby corn and cauliflower for the shrimp. I fried them in the oil/ginger mixture a few minutes before adding the tomatoes etc. Upped the garam masala to 1/2 tsp. Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This was my first time making/eating any Indian dish. I used garlic powder instead of a garlic clove and I didn't have any tumeric on hand. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Good and easy to make, but I thought it could use a bit more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This was fantastic!! After reading other cook's reviews I decided to thicken with 2 tbs of flour. I don't like pre-cooked shrimp, so I bought frozen deveined fully peeled shrimp, thawed them, and then I added them in as soon as the curry began to simmer. I let the shrimp cook in the curry for 10 minutes, then added the chopped cilantro and cooked for another 2 minutes as per the recipe. Cooking the shrimp in the curry gave it an AMAZING shrimpy taste that is not too strong, but just perfect. I think next time I might try adding a little lime to the party, for giggles. My mum said she'd pay to eat this at a restaurant. Wonderful wonderful WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEmilyAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I was really worried since I realized last minute that I was out of onions and I know how dramatically they can impact flavor. I just went ahead with the recipe anyway and used the mexican diced tomatoes with green chiles that I had in the cupboard instead of plain diced tomatoes. I think the chiles added a bit of extra kick and the dish is so flavorful overall that I ended up not missing the onions. I also added in fresh green peppers to get some veggies in. Love this recipe and will definitely be doing it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I had to add flour to thicken the curry but it tasted awesome not a to spicy and you cant taste the coconut which is just fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States