Indian Shrimp Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Holy Cow!!! This was amazing! I am so happy to have found this recipe because it really is authentic tasting. I will probably increase the spice by 1/2 next time, because I want even more of that indian flavor. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Really great and flavorful, easy peasy to make. Very runny, though. Next time I'll simmer longer and add some flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is was good, I used olive oil because I did not have peanut oil but did everything else the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Pretty good and easy base recipe. I did, however, find it necessary to increase the spice amounts and added 1 tsp. Madras curry powder and some cayenne pepper to kick it up as I like my curries fairly spicy. I found the sauce to be a bit thin so I thickened it up by using a cornstarch slurry. After making these adjustments, this curry turned out great. Will be making it again and perhaps next time will add a few vegetables to the mixture. I served this for dinner last night over basmati rice and with store-bought naan which I brushed with melted butter, sprinkled with minced garlic and baked on a sheet pan for 4 min. at 400 degrees. The only thing I wish I had to go with this meal was some mint chutney, which I will be sure to have next time I serve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
absolutely fantastic flavor. I made it vegetarian by sauteing 2 cups of mushrooms with the onions, then adding 1 cup frozen green peas at the point where you would add shrimp. I also wanted a sweeter flavor and used a can of stewed tomatoes that I chopped up. Served it over rice and it was scrumptious. For an elegant look you can press a serving of rice into a small rounded bowl and then "flip " the bowl to empty it intact onto your serving dish Then ladle the curry mix around the rice, and adorn the rice mound with a piece of cilantro... gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I followed the recipe to the letter and wouldn't change a thing. My husband and I both loved it - very "authentic" tasting. I served with white rice and a traditional salad and it was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very good. I cut the fat down to about 14g per serving by using only 1 tbsp oil and substituting light coconut milk. I used fresh ginger and added about a tsp red curry paste for some extra spice. I did have to add some cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit. Just mix water and cornstarch in a bowl before adding to avoid lumps. Crushed cashews or pistachios would be an excellent thickener as well, but I was trying to keep fat low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I just made this as part of a big Indian meal with several dishes and it was a hit! The only changes I made were that I used chopped fresh tomatoes and I added a chopped serano pepper because we like heat. Also I use 2 lbs of raw peeled shrimp. It cooks in the sauce in about 5 minutes. I think cooked shrimp would be too tough and not take on the flavor of all the spices as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was really yummy! I used sesame oil instead of peanut oil, but that was the only difference. We'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
It doesn't look like the picture, but it was DELICIOUS!! I added a tsp and a half of sugar and a pinch of curry. I also cooked the shrimp when I put the coconut (lite) milk in. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States