Indian Shrimp Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Holy Cow!!! This was amazing! I am so happy to have found this recipe because it really is authentic tasting. I will probably increase the spice by 1/2 next time, because I want even more of that indian flavor. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Really great and flavorful, easy peasy to make. Very runny, though. Next time I'll simmer longer and add some flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is was good, I used olive oil because I did not have peanut oil but did everything else the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Pretty good and easy base recipe. I did, however, find it necessary to increase the spice amounts and added 1 tsp. Madras curry powder and some cayenne pepper to kick it up as I like my curries fairly spicy. I found the sauce to be a bit thin so I thickened it up by using a cornstarch slurry. After making these adjustments, this curry turned out great. Will be making it again and perhaps next time will add a few vegetables to the mixture. I served this for dinner last night over basmati rice and with store-bought naan which I brushed with melted butter, sprinkled with minced garlic and baked on a sheet pan for 4 min. at 400 degrees. The only thing I wish I had to go with this meal was some mint chutney, which I will be sure to have next time I serve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
absolutely fantastic flavor. I made it vegetarian by sauteing 2 cups of mushrooms with the onions, then adding 1 cup frozen green peas at the point where you would add shrimp. I also wanted a sweeter flavor and used a can of stewed tomatoes that I chopped up. Served it over rice and it was scrumptious. For an elegant look you can press a serving of rice into a small rounded bowl and then "flip " the bowl to empty it intact onto your serving dish Then ladle the curry mix around the rice, and adorn the rice mound with a piece of cilantro... gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I followed the recipe to the letter and wouldn't change a thing. My husband and I both loved it - very "authentic" tasting. I served with white rice and a traditional salad and it was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very good. I cut the fat down to about 14g per serving by using only 1 tbsp oil and substituting light coconut milk. I used fresh ginger and added about a tsp red curry paste for some extra spice. I did have to add some cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit. Just mix water and cornstarch in a bowl before adding to avoid lumps. Crushed cashews or pistachios would be an excellent thickener as well, but I was trying to keep fat low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
It doesn't look like the picture, but it was DELICIOUS!! I added a tsp and a half of sugar and a pinch of curry. I also cooked the shrimp when I put the coconut (lite) milk in. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Having never tried Indian cooking before, this practically perfect recipe provided a fun, easy way to start. We felt like we got to go on a little trip to an exotic place for supper. After simmering for 10 min., the mixture was still a little thin, so I added about a tsp. of cornstarch dissolved in a tbsp. of cold water. My whole family, including my 12-month-old enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was really yummy! I used sesame oil instead of peanut oil, but that was the only difference. We'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States