Indian Shrimp Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is an easy, delicious recipe. I only added a bag of frozen California medley vegetables. Next time I will try it vegetarian with chickpeas instead of shrimp. I think regular peas would be good in this too. My husband and I were going to have Indian delivered on Valentine's Day, but now, I have decided to make this and the day before stop at an Indian restaurant and pick up some naan and reheat it for our dinner. My 6 and 10 year old kids even liked this. DH and I added hot sauce to our plate since this is so mild. If you like it hotter add crushed pepper or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
It doesn't look like the picture, but it was DELICIOUS!! I added a tsp and a half of sugar and a pinch of curry. I also cooked the shrimp when I put the coconut (lite) milk in. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
absolutely fantastic flavor. I made it vegetarian by sauteing 2 cups of mushrooms with the onions, then adding 1 cup frozen green peas at the point where you would add shrimp. I also wanted a sweeter flavor and used a can of stewed tomatoes that I chopped up. Served it over rice and it was scrumptious. For an elegant look you can press a serving of rice into a small rounded bowl and then "flip " the bowl to empty it intact onto your serving dish Then ladle the curry mix around the rice, and adorn the rice mound with a piece of cilantro... gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe! I love indian food but lack many of the real recipes, so this was a convenient compromise. The first time I made it was the best where I actually measured exactly all the spices. Now I improvise and its still great. I use olive oil and it still comes out great. Definitely try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Easy and delicious. I subbed olive oil for peanut oil and used frozen cubes of cilantro instead of fresh and it tasted great. I also added a handful of toasted pistachios which added a nice nutty crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is was good, I used olive oil because I did not have peanut oil but did everything else the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Delicious- my husband said it was as good as our favorite Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Made exactly as recipe given - one of my faves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Delicious and easy. Unfortunately, we're at the cottage and I didn't have any cilantro - otherwise I'm sure it would have been a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washago, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Really great and flavorful, easy peasy to make. Very runny, though. Next time I'll simmer longer and add some flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States