Indian Shrimp Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I made this dish today for my son's Name Day and it was wonderful. I followed the recipe and it came out really good. The only changes I made were, I used olive oil, since I did not have any peanut oil and I used raw shrimp which I saute for 2-3 minutes before adding to the sauce. A great recipe that I will make again and again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
A hit!!! Great flavors. I didn't use the tomatoes because my youngest hates them....instead I used some chicken broth and also fresh ginger. At first they thought that it looked "to yellow" (turmeric), but after the first bite, they were hooked. Served it with Jasmine rice...our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
An excellent recipe that did not need any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uhiggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blanco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Pretty good and easy base recipe. I did, however, find it necessary to increase the spice amounts and added 1 tsp. Madras curry powder and some cayenne pepper to kick it up as I like my curries fairly spicy. I found the sauce to be a bit thin so I thickened it up by using a cornstarch slurry. After making these adjustments, this curry turned out great. Will be making it again and perhaps next time will add a few vegetables to the mixture. I served this for dinner last night over basmati rice and with store-bought naan which I brushed with melted butter, sprinkled with minced garlic and baked on a sheet pan for 4 min. at 400 degrees. The only thing I wish I had to go with this meal was some mint chutney, which I will be sure to have next time I serve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is an easy, delicious recipe. I only added a bag of frozen California medley vegetables. Next time I will try it vegetarian with chickpeas instead of shrimp. I think regular peas would be good in this too. My husband and I were going to have Indian delivered on Valentine's Day, but now, I have decided to make this and the day before stop at an Indian restaurant and pick up some naan and reheat it for our dinner. My 6 and 10 year old kids even liked this. DH and I added hot sauce to our plate since this is so mild. If you like it hotter add crushed pepper or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
It doesn't look like the picture, but it was DELICIOUS!! I added a tsp and a half of sugar and a pinch of curry. I also cooked the shrimp when I put the coconut (lite) milk in. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
absolutely fantastic flavor. I made it vegetarian by sauteing 2 cups of mushrooms with the onions, then adding 1 cup frozen green peas at the point where you would add shrimp. I also wanted a sweeter flavor and used a can of stewed tomatoes that I chopped up. Served it over rice and it was scrumptious. For an elegant look you can press a serving of rice into a small rounded bowl and then "flip " the bowl to empty it intact onto your serving dish Then ladle the curry mix around the rice, and adorn the rice mound with a piece of cilantro... gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe! I love indian food but lack many of the real recipes, so this was a convenient compromise. The first time I made it was the best where I actually measured exactly all the spices. Now I improvise and its still great. I use olive oil and it still comes out great. Definitely try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Easy and delicious. I subbed olive oil for peanut oil and used frozen cubes of cilantro instead of fresh and it tasted great. I also added a handful of toasted pistachios which added a nice nutty crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is was good, I used olive oil because I did not have peanut oil but did everything else the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States