Indian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I used basmati rice and sour cream (and added less lemon juice as a result) instead of heavy cream and this was really tasty. I definitely recommend fresh or frozen asparagus as opposed to canned. If you can't get it then substitute another fresh veggie like green beans or zucchini/yellow squash, etc. I love pretty much anything Indian inspired but I'd never thought to add a creamy dressing to my rice before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Very unusual and also pretty tasty. I think fresh asparagus would be better than the canned though (less mushy). I love the curry dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe!! I used it for a family dinner party and it was a hit. I ended up having to write this recipe down for four of my family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Delicious & easy!!! I used basmati & jasmine rice because I don't like brown rice(oh how I wish I did). Absolutely wonderful, perfeclty proportioned flavor but next time I'll definitely switch to fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Delicious! I did use fresh asparagus, however, steamed them until crisp/tender. And used jasmine rice to be a bit more authentic. After tasting it decided it needed more 'crunch', so I sprinkled some chopped walnuts on top...probably not so authentic, but fabulous none the less! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
2 words - AWE SOME !!!! As stated in the description it doesn't need to be changed at all to be perfect (for me, anyway!). Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
So good, but I did double the dressing as the taste was too mild for us otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this for my husband who is Indian....I'm American & we are living in Bombay right now...he didn't find it that great...I wasn't able to find heavy cream so I had to make my own to use...I'm not too sure if this was the cause of it not tasting great...I'd like to think not...I also used basmati rice & I ended up adding some chili powder for spice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fancypants

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This was pretty tasty. I used green bell pepper since I didn't have red, and I also didnt have asparagus, but it was great anyway. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe and neither were the other party guests. I don't know what I did wrong, but it was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States